Curried Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I loved this, my wife really liked it. She said she would cut the curry in half. Neither of us has had much experience with curry. I think it was great like it was. We had it as a side dish with Pad Thai and after a couple of bites of the main dish the Curried Cauliflower was overpowered and seemed not as flavorful. I plan to try something similar to this as a main dish, as I think it will stand on it's own as a main course with something to beef it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
We liked this dish very much. There was so much sauce that the next time I make it, I will double the cauliflower or add other vegetables to the dish. I would also be tempted to add some precooked chicken to the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I have made this dish twice and love it. I gat ahead of myself the first time and mix the crackers into the mixture and it was still very good. I have also used the mixture as a dip for raw brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Amazingly yummy! I did do 1/2 mayo and 1/2 cup greek yogurt (didn't have enough mayo on hand) and three teaspoons of curry. Mixed the sauce well with the cauliflower and sprinkled with seasoned bread crumbs (giving it five minutes under the broiler at the end of baking gave it a nice crisp). Reheated the dish today for lunch and it was just as good. Dish definitely needs salt and pepper, season as you wish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was good. I used non-fat greek yogurt in place of the mayo, and added extra curry powder. There was a lot of extra "sauce," maybe my cauliflower was not as large as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I was reluctant to try this recipe because of the mayo, but it was actually very good. I left off the cracker topping and added some chicken to make a one-dish meal. It has a good, mild flavor that can be spiced up simply by adding more curry powder if wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I'm not a big fan of cauliflower, but I wanted to try this. It tastes good, and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great as is, and sauce lends itself easily to variations. Suitable for company or a pot luck; a keeper with a good, balanced flavor. In the future, for color, I'll try adding some frozen petite peas to the sauce; maybe some julienne cut carrots. The sauce quantity is perfect, covering all florets filling a shallow 8" x 10" baking dish. I used enough buttered crackers/crumb mix to cover the dish thoroughly. I'd characterize the curry taste as "mild" or "a gentle hint of curry." Though I used "98% fat free" chicken soup, I used regular rather than light mayo and a quarter cup of butter for the bread crumbs. The result is a slight rich character to the sauce, but I LOVED the dish and treated it as a main course. Who'd have thought I'd fill myself with cauliflower! I used up what we had of Triskets crackers and supplemented with plain bread crumbs. Use crackers; they add a crunch, even when crushed, that you don't get from just the bread crumbs. Would I use light mayo in the future? Maybe not. Part of the charm of this recipe (and drawback for some) is the rich character of the final product. Once I cut the amount of butter and had difficulty getting the top to brown; stick with recipe as it is. Do NOT add salt; there's plenty from the soup and butter. More curry? Depends on your preference for the spice. Pepper? Maybe 1/8 tsp but more would change the flavor balance I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I really enjoyed this. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was so good. The second time I made it I tried to modify the recipe so there would be fewer calories and fat. I cut back on the mayonaise and omitted the butter and crackers. It just wasn't the same. I recommend following the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I was happy that this recipe was posted because I lost my recipe for this dish. Like others who enjoy curry flavor, I add a little more curry. If you are curry beginner, keep it as listed. I put the cauliflower in the microwave for two minutes in a zip lock bag or place it in raw. I like cauliflower firm and it can get too soft in the baking process. This great with chicken and rice! Again, thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States