Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Thank you, Christya! Like so many cooks, I changed ingredients to suit my needs. I don't eat mammals, so there was no bacon or meat substitute in mine. All the other substitutions were based on what was in my pantry: instead of cashews, I used walnuts; instead of rosemary, I used tarragon (dried!); instead of kosher salt I used regular salt. And it was delicious! Next time I'll try it with the original ingredients (except for the bacon), and I bet that'll be delicious as well! It was surprisingly easy and quick to make (and clean up after, although that might not be the case with the bacon). Worthy of being on a menu at a nice restaurant. I'll make it at my next social gathering, and I know everyone will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
We are always looking for different salads to eat and this one was just perfect. I shook my head when I saw the ingredients for the cashews but I followed to a "T" and they were amazing! Dressing was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe - will definitely be having over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yummy!!!!!!!! My husband and I wanted to try and change the kind of salads that we eat for dinner and this salad is delicious. I love the mixture of flavors between the honey and the cayenne pepper. You must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
We didn't have any bacon but didn't miss it. This was FABULOUS! Both my husband and I loved it and are looking forward to making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good, but too salty for my taste. Next time, I'll cut the salt to 1/4 tsp, maybe even just 1/8 tsp... I used a whole pear and 1/3 cup crasins instead of grapes. I also added 1/3 cup feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this salad for a pot luck at work and everyone loved it. I toasted the cashews in the oven, reduced the oil and added dried cranberries. The flavors were amazing! I can't wait to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I was asked to bring a salad to our Home Group & wanted something fall-ish when I came upon this recipe. I'm not fond of Honey-Mustard dressing/dips nor of curry, so I decided to tweek this a bit, using many other reviews as a guide. The result was really good & I know my husband will like it because the cashews ended up being pretty spicy! So, here's what I did: I used 1 1/4 cups cashews, substituted Lemon Pepper for the Curry Powder; also roasted the cashews in the oven @ 350 for 10-15 mins. Increased the Bacon to 6 slices & always cook my bacon in the microwave about 1 min per slice for the crispiest bacon! For the dressing I wanted to be sure to have plenty, so I used 6 T. Vinegar; 1/2 C Honey; & kept the oil at 1/2 C. For the seasoning, I used 2 T Ground Dry Mustard powder (rather than the Dijon); 2 t. Poppy Seeds; 1 t. Sea Salt; 1/2 t. Black Pepper; 1 t. Paprika. It had a "kick", but nothing like the Cashews! I also added 1/2 C Cranraisins; 1 Lg Can Mandarine Oranges, drained; & 1 tub of Feta Cheese to the salad. I chose to dice the pear, rather than slicing it. I also only had Romaine, but would love to have added other greens, as I'm sure it would be even tastier! (I actually did only a test-run-taste for myself, so I don't know how others will like it, but I will give an update as soon as I have it. I liked it & I'm pretty picky, so I'm sure it will be a hit!) I've also renamed it: "Fall Festival Salad w/ Spicy Cashews & Honey-mustard-Poppy seed Dressing"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is proof that Mother Nature loves us. Very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
incredible! make this we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
A friend served this at a dinner party and my husband and I thought it was delicious, so I made it for my vegetarian daughter and son-in-law the following week. They think it is the BEST salad they have ever tasted! I have made it two more times, once without currying the cashews for picky eaters who thought it was wonderful. I did not have any grapes the last time I made it so used nectarines I had on hand and they were terrific. I apprecited the comment about toning down the spices for people who are not as into ethnic flavors as we are. Will definitely make this salad again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States