Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
So yummy! This is going to become a regular in our house. I substituted Morningstar meatless bacon for the real stuff, since we're vegetarians--it worked well. Served with the Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This salad is something you would find in a five star resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Awesome!! I used sunflower seeds instead of cashews and turkey sausage instead of bacon (that's what I had on hand) and boy was it good! This salad has the perfect combination of spicy and tart, soft and crunchy. Even my husband (who isn't exactly a salad lover) went back for seconds. Bravo!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Thank you, Christya! Like so many cooks, I changed ingredients to suit my needs. I don't eat mammals, so there was no bacon or meat substitute in mine. All the other substitutions were based on what was in my pantry: instead of cashews, I used walnuts; instead of rosemary, I used tarragon (dried!); instead of kosher salt I used regular salt. And it was delicious! Next time I'll try it with the original ingredients (except for the bacon), and I bet that'll be delicious as well! It was surprisingly easy and quick to make (and clean up after, although that might not be the case with the bacon). Worthy of being on a menu at a nice restaurant. I'll make it at my next social gathering, and I know everyone will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
We are always looking for different salads to eat and this one was just perfect. I shook my head when I saw the ingredients for the cashews but I followed to a "T" and they were amazing! Dressing was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe - will definitely be having over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yummy!!!!!!!! My husband and I wanted to try and change the kind of salads that we eat for dinner and this salad is delicious. I love the mixture of flavors between the honey and the cayenne pepper. You must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
We didn't have any bacon but didn't miss it. This was FABULOUS! Both my husband and I loved it and are looking forward to making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very good, but too salty for my taste. Next time, I'll cut the salt to 1/4 tsp, maybe even just 1/8 tsp... I used a whole pear and 1/3 cup crasins instead of grapes. I also added 1/3 cup feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this salad for a pot luck at work and everyone loved it. I toasted the cashews in the oven, reduced the oil and added dried cranberries. The flavors were amazing! I can't wait to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I was asked to bring a salad to our Home Group & wanted something fall-ish when I came upon this recipe. I'm not fond of Honey-Mustard dressing/dips nor of curry, so I decided to tweek this a bit, using many other reviews as a guide. The result was really good & I know my husband will like it because the cashews ended up being pretty spicy! So, here's what I did: I used 1 1/4 cups cashews, substituted Lemon Pepper for the Curry Powder; also roasted the cashews in the oven @ 350 for 10-15 mins. Increased the Bacon to 6 slices & always cook my bacon in the microwave about 1 min per slice for the crispiest bacon! For the dressing I wanted to be sure to have plenty, so I used 6 T. Vinegar; 1/2 C Honey; & kept the oil at 1/2 C. For the seasoning, I used 2 T Ground Dry Mustard powder (rather than the Dijon); 2 t. Poppy Seeds; 1 t. Sea Salt; 1/2 t. Black Pepper; 1 t. Paprika. It had a "kick", but nothing like the Cashews! I also added 1/2 C Cranraisins; 1 Lg Can Mandarine Oranges, drained; & 1 tub of Feta Cheese to the salad. I chose to dice the pear, rather than slicing it. I also only had Romaine, but would love to have added other greens, as I'm sure it would be even tastier! (I actually did only a test-run-taste for myself, so I don't know how others will like it, but I will give an update as soon as I have it. I liked it & I'm pretty picky, so I'm sure it will be a hit!) I've also renamed it: "Fall Festival Salad w/ Spicy Cashews & Honey-mustard-Poppy seed Dressing"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States