Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Overall it was a delicious salad! The only problem I had was the step to coat cashews. I guess the melted butter got cool and it became more like paste rather than sauce. Some cashews had more paste on them and much hotter! I put the sign saying "Cashews may be very spicy hot! Eat at your own risk!!" which people thought I was being funny. I will definitely make this salad again!! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takako
Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The cashew mix makes such a nice contrast to the sweetness of the fruit and tanginess of the dressing. Everyone loved it, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This salad is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exact, with the exception of adding *more bacon* (I used a maple bacon, about hlaf of the pkg)... for convenience I toasted the cashews in the oven at 350 for just over 10 minutes while I cooked the bacon. The dressing is very good! it would also be a great basting sauce for chicken or pork on the grill... It is a impressive salad, with a bit of a spicy kick. I tossed the salad with the nuts/dressing, but left the pears out. I put the salad on each plate, then added the pears in slices ontop of each serving.. about 3 fanned-out slices. makes for a nice presentation. Served the salad with 'Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks' from this site and mini roasted potatoes. the salad went FAST.. people were squabbeling over who got the last bit.. excellent, thanks so much!! definite keeper :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Right on!, Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Just a touch of heat for a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Best salad I've EVER made - and I've made some good salads. :) That nut mixture is to die for! It's unusual and for me that is a very big plus - I really get bored with the same thing all the time. I won't use this too often bec/ I don't want me or others to get tired of it - but I know when I do make it, guests are going to love it. (I made it for a group of people with fairly conservative tastes and without exception they all liked it.) EDIT: Made again - for a group of people who like to try different things and they loved it as much as I do. If I could give a 10, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Great salad. A lot of complex flavors designed to please a sophisticated palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Wow! This is a party in your mouth! My mom wanted to give it 6 stars. This recipe as posted is awesome, no need to change a thing. I will definitely be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Lessons learned: walnuts are NOT a substitute for cashews in this salad. Aside from that, the salad was good... but I thought the bacon was a bit much and the dressing really, really vinegary. Reducing vinegar to 1 Tblsp and oil to 2 Tblsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merchantShip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Excellent, but the dressing was too much for the amount of lettuce I had so next time I'll halve the dressing or buy more lettuce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This salad is wonderful! I took it a step further and drizzled the cashew marinade over chicken and grilled it. Put it on top of salad, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States