Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this salad for my Red Hat group last night, and received rave reviews! It was delicious, and the cashews were good enough to eat for an appetizer! In fact, that's what some ladies did; I left the salad undressed, and had guests add their own dressing and then top it with the curried cashews, so the cashews were there for the nibbling! After reading review suggestions, I included all recipe ingredients, and decided to add mandarin oranges, goat cheese, and dried cherries. I noticed that several reviewers thought the dressing had too much oil, or too much vinegar. I thought it was perfect, as is. I think the secret is lightly dressing it, rather than drowning it in all the dressing. I always get my dressing on the side when eating out, and serve salad that way at home, also. Now I have leftovers for this evening! I'll just add some grilled chicken, and be good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe that is gobbled up at every party I take it to. The cashews really make the dish, I could eat them on their own though! I find that I have to taste the dressing and adjust the vinegar, adding 2 or 3 more Tbs as needed. I used Baltic Curry, precooked thick bacon, the whole pear and a full cup of grapes as other reviewers did. I did use only half of the amount of salad since my salad bowl was not huge, but it was perfect anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wow, what a salad! The layers of flavors make the combination mouth-wateringly delicious. I also reduced the olive oil to around 1/4 cup (there's too much dressing for one bag of salad) and subbed dried thyme for rosemary, added a whole sliced pear, and left out the bacon. It was still amazing! I'd leave out the grapes next time, as they seemed unnecessary, or maybe add dried cranberries as someone else suggested. A totally wonderful holiday or winter salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a real treat, sweet and flavours are amazing. Definetly will make it again even though hubby doesn't like fruit in his salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving lunch at my office and it was a huge success. I used a mix of romaine and arugula, skipped the bacon and added crumbled Stilton cheese. Also added toasted sesame seeds and garlic, as recommended, to the dressing, plus a touch of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a keeper. Have used pears and also apples and both equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I probably won't make this oftn, but I did enjoy it. I will try substituting almonds for the cashews and reducing the oil in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Six thumbs up! I followed the recipe as written then added chicken breast pan fried with a bit of the dressing for flavor. The addition of chicken was to satisfy my husband's need for protein; it was an amazing salad with or without the chicken. Whenever I try a new recipe I ask whether it is a thumbs up recipe, that is, should I make it again or not? The answer: six thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Delicious! I loved the cashews & so did my parrot! I was worried about the rosemary, but loved the taste it added. I went a little "light" on the spices, but used the full amount of brown sugar. I'll use the full amount of spices next time. I couldn't quit eating the nuts (so many I had to toast more!) Thanks for a different salad - I think grapes are a great summer ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Good! I liked it a lot! The nuts had a good taste to them (maybe a tad too spicy for me, but I'm a major wimp when it comes to spices) and worked well with the grape + pear combo. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States