Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Really tasty, a definate keeper. I added garlic with the onions and along with the curry powder, cumin and garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I had a bunch of carrots so looked for a good recipe. This was great! Simple and delicious. I read the reviews and, like others, added another T curry. I also added 2 cloves garlic with the onion, and saved some of the cooked carrots to add chunks to the puree mixture. I also added about 1/4 t salt. I garnished it with sour cream the first time, then with plain yogurt and some fresh cut cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I didn't think this recipe was too bad, but my husband didnt care for it at all. It was very thick so I might add more broth next time and use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
As a lover of carrots and curry, I couldn't wait to try this recipe. I thought it was delicious. I used 3(14oz) cans of chicken broth, additional curry, but did not add any water. I simplified the puree step by using a stick blender into the pot. JAH, Texas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Wonderful soup - easy and very flavorful - I added other Indian spices as well as the curry and a ton of garlic - fantastic. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
We love this recipe. It is even better reheated. I add more onion and more curry than is suggested to make it spicier. It is nice served with caramelized onions, sour cream, and/or croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor. I used chicken broth to make it a little richer. I ended up using about 5 cups total to get the right consistency. At the end I added half a block of crumbled firm tofu to add protein. Next time, I'll probably only puree half of it so it will be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglinguist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
We did not like this at all. I actually threw most of it out. And it sounded so good when I read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is so good, I'm really impressed!! I will make it many more times, it was very easy too. The balance of ingredients was perfect, I just added a little more curry...I used 2 knorr Vegetable bouillon cubes and 4 cups of water for the broth. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYSPINELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington Station, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States