Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good. Made same as recipe "except" I didn't have enough vegetable broth so used half vegetable and half chicken. Did not need to add water at the end. Used a stick blender to puree. Measured the carrots to 4 cups chopped as I was using from a 25# bag of carrots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I followed other's advice and doubled the curry powder. I also added a small can of coconut milk. Used an immersion blender. Turned out DELICIOUS! Great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I usually do not stick to the recipe for savory dishes, but there was not much to alter here without getting a completely different product. And what do you know, it is good as is! i did not add the extra water in order for it to be thick enough for my toddler to be able to navigate it himself, and he ate at least a cupful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I added in four cloves of garlic (one was pretty small) when I sautéed the onion, but other than that, left the recipe as is. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good combination of ingredients, soup was quite thick. I had to use extra vegetable broth. Next time I think I'll use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I like the curry powder - a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
There are only 2 of us, so I halved the recipe. The bf doesn't like onion, so I omitted it but added some garlic, and used beef broth instead of the vegetable. I also added just a tiny amount of cumin. This recipe is simple and tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband liked this, but I did not. I would not recommend adding extra curry, it was very salty and spiced when I added an extra teaspoon than the recipe called for. I tried adding some basmati rice, didn't help. Just...disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Substitute canned pumpkin for the carrots and it's an AMAZING easy light fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I roasted the diced carrots at 420 for 40 minutes (brushed with a little olive oil), added garlic, and used 1 tsp Indian/Madras curry ("dryer," less sweet, more cumin), and 2 tsp sweet curry (more cinnamon, nutmeg, clove and cardamom). Added 1 tsp fresh grated ginger. used half vegetable half chicken stock, and a little cream right before serving. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States