Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this as a first course for dinner with guests several times. It is a can't fail recipe if there ever was one. For me, it is a tad sweet but given the nutrition of the soup, I always go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good. Made same as recipe "except" I didn't have enough vegetable broth so used half vegetable and half chicken. Did not need to add water at the end. Used a stick blender to puree. Measured the carrots to 4 cups chopped as I was using from a 25# bag of carrots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I followed other's advice and doubled the curry powder. I also added a small can of coconut milk. Used an immersion blender. Turned out DELICIOUS! Great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I usually do not stick to the recipe for savory dishes, but there was not much to alter here without getting a completely different product. And what do you know, it is good as is! i did not add the extra water in order for it to be thick enough for my toddler to be able to navigate it himself, and he ate at least a cupful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I added in four cloves of garlic (one was pretty small) when I sautéed the onion, but other than that, left the recipe as is. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good combination of ingredients, soup was quite thick. I had to use extra vegetable broth. Next time I think I'll use low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I like the curry powder - a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
There are only 2 of us, so I halved the recipe. The bf doesn't like onion, so I omitted it but added some garlic, and used beef broth instead of the vegetable. I also added just a tiny amount of cumin. This recipe is simple and tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My husband liked this, but I did not. I would not recommend adding extra curry, it was very salty and spiced when I added an extra teaspoon than the recipe called for. I tried adding some basmati rice, didn't help. Just...disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Substitute canned pumpkin for the carrots and it's an AMAZING easy light fall soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vida
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States