Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This soup was excellent! I added extra curry, added celery seed and used chicken stock instead of veggie broth. Definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used butter instead of oil and added celery shortly after the onions. Didn't add any water at all but I did add a little salt and pepper and sour cream after blending. We LOVED this soup. Even my husband who doesn't like curry said this was the best soup he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very tasty - a little too spicy from the curry for me, would use less next time. I doubted the raisins but they were really good - nice balance of sweet to the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great flavor. I used chicken broth to make it a little richer. I ended up using about 5 cups total to get the right consistency. At the end I added half a block of crumbled firm tofu to add protein. Next time, I'll probably only puree half of it so it will be chunkier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinglinguist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this as a first course for dinner with guests several times. It is a can't fail recipe if there ever was one. For me, it is a tad sweet but given the nutrition of the soup, I always go back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe at all...the flavor was strange, with a bitter aftertaste that wasn't very pleasant. Perhaps it was because it called for a whole tablespoon of curry powder? Also, as is, the recipe calls for no salt or pepper, so I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt and 1/8 tsp. of ground black pepper for more flavor. The one good thing about this recipe is how quick and easy it is to make. Even so, I wouldn't make it again. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good. Made same as recipe "except" I didn't have enough vegetable broth so used half vegetable and half chicken. Did not need to add water at the end. Used a stick blender to puree. Measured the carrots to 4 cups chopped as I was using from a 25# bag of carrots. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I followed other's advice and doubled the curry powder. I also added a small can of coconut milk. Used an immersion blender. Turned out DELICIOUS! Great and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I usually do not stick to the recipe for savory dishes, but there was not much to alter here without getting a completely different product. And what do you know, it is good as is! i did not add the extra water in order for it to be thick enough for my toddler to be able to navigate it himself, and he ate at least a cupful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Delicious! I added in four cloves of garlic (one was pretty small) when I sautéed the onion, but other than that, left the recipe as is. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States