Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
this is delicious! I had tons of juicing carrots so I decided to try this. The only change I made was to add maybe 1tsp more curry and 1 tsp garam masala. Even better warmed up. I only added about 1/2 cup of water to this as I like my soup nice and thick. I am sad I just discovered this at the beginning of spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My family requests this one often. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Simple and delicious! I wanted something nutritious that I could taste despite my bad cold, so the curry was perfect. Also added a bit of ginger paste, cumin to warm it up, and pepper. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'd just made chicken stock, so I used that in place of vegetable broth. Although I like curry, I wondered if it might be a little harsh as the only seasoning. So, I substituted Garam Masala. The stick blender worked fine for pureeing the soup. I did add a little kosher salt when I sauteed the onions. (My stock was salt-free. If I'd used canned, I wouldn't have added salt.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So good! I was skeptical, but this came out great. I did make some changes (1) added celery salt (2) added pinch of cayenne pepper (3) added applesauce (4) topped with dollop of chobani honey greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The flavor of this soup left something to be desired. Salt? Pepper? Heavy cream? I also recommend adding only a half tablespoon of curry powder in the beginning. More can be added later to taste. On second thought, it might be a better idea to just instead go with a cream-based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
It was kind of dull to start but TWEAKED with tumeric instead of curry, a little fresh ginger, black pepper, dried hot peppers and a good cup of green tea added to the mix it was superb for a windy winters night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Needed a bit of salt. It was a bit bland, but still good. I will try again, but will add a few extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Delicious! The first time I made it, I did exactly as the recipe says, and it was PERFECT. The second time, it was a little thick. Maybe I didn't add enough water. It's so filling and satisfying for so few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This wasn't to my liking at all (sorry!). My adventerous husband didn't even like this. For me, it was the taste (somewhat bitter) and for my hubs, it was the texture (he compared this to over pureed baby food). While I enjoy all of these ingredients on their own, they don't work well together. I even splurged and bought fresh curry powder from my local gourmet spice shop (so I know the spice isn't the issue). I pretty much followed Doug's directions to the letter, however, I did substitute chicken broth for veggie broth (I always have chicken broth on hand). It took a little more than a cup's worth of extra broth to achieve a slightly thin consistency. Creme fraiche added a nice finishing touch (and was what helped salvage our soup) and the naan I served on the side filled us up. Oh well, I guess every recipe can't be a winner. At least I was able to crank out my new immersion blender. Thanks anyways, Doug! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States