Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
so simple yet so good! It has a creamy rich taste at then end, without the calories of a cream-based soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
So good! I did add garlic and a little sprinkle or turmeric. Excellent recipe, quick and easy. Making it for the second night in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed this recipe, but like others increased the curry powder to 2 TBSPs and added 1/2 tsp of Garam Masala. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious. Based on other reviews I added minced garlic and 1 more TBS of curry powder because my hubby likes things spicy. Just before serving I added a dollop of plain yogurt to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this soup, but there are two things I change that make all the difference. 1) I don't use any water at all, and 2) I add a fair amount of salt and pepper at the end. (I can't believe the recipe doesn't include any seasoning at all!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Very Good and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lars Sahlen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
OH MY WORD this is an amazing recipe! Thank you, Doug! I only have a small blender so I ended up leaving the soup chunky, which turned out wonderfully! I will do this intentionally next time. I also added more curry powder and some garam masala like other reviewers suggested. I would have added cumin as well, but I just ran out. I will try it next time. Additionally, I spontaneously topped the soup with a few toasted cashews and it was great, although took away from the wonderful curried carrot flavor already there. May not add the cashews next time. I also arranged some zucchini peels on bread with olive oil and pepper and stuck it in the oven to toast for a bit. This made a wonderful accompaniment to the soup, as I dipped it in and even spooned the carrot chunks onto the toast. I will definitely serve this with naan next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I gave it 5 stars, but I must say I completely changed the recipe. I used this as a starting point. I had 4 lbs of locally grown pesticide free carrots that I had to use up, but i only used about 2 1/2 of them. I sauteed the onions with garlic. Added 2 tbsp of curry powder 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of ginger. As the carrots were cooking in the vegetable broth, I roasted some corn cut off the cob and a red onion on the stove in some coconut oil. I also cooked 1 cup of jasmine rice. I reserved some of the carrot mixture and about 1/2 the corn mixture and 1/2 the rice before pureeing everything else with an immersion blender. Then added the remainder of veggies and rice to give it some texture and topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt and ate it with some fresh bread from my bread maker. YUM!! Even my 4 and 6 year olds gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
A good place to start, easy to make. I added celery & garlic, salt & pepper. I also used a stick blender to reduce clean up. BUT WAY TOO MUCH CURRY!! I added 1 cup cream AND 1 cup water just to dilute the curry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Nice, easy, tasty soup. I added 3 cloves of garlic and half a tsp ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States