Curried Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Yum! I read several of the reviews and added fresh ginger, garlic, garam marsala and a little cumin. Only used chicken broth not plain water. Probably used a little less of the liquid because I wanted a thicker soup. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was such a hit! I added a lot of extra spices though after reading the other reviews including more curry powder, garlic, and salt. Was so yummy! My boyfriend had two servings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottington

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Very nice soup. I made it with the minor adjustment of adding two cloves of garlic and a cup of chicken broth to thin the soup instead of water. It came out great and my 9 month old devoured a whole bowl! I then took the rest of the soup, added a bit more curry, a pat of butter and some garam masala for me and hubby. We enjoyed the soup and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
For those who didn't like it I wonder if they did not bloom their curry powder. powdered spices should be cooked for a few minutes with the onions and oil to release their flavor. Otherwise they produce a weird aftertaste. I also added 1 tablesppon of garlic, 2 tablespoons of ginger paste, 2 tablespoons of curry paste (instead of powder) and salt and pepper. next time I might roast the carrots first for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
LOVED this. This will be a staple. I upped the spices: one tbs ground ginger, 1 tbs Gram Marsala, and about 1 1/2 tbs of curry. But I love a kick! It soothed my sore threat in a second. I stuck with the four cups of veggie broth because I love thick purees.. Thanks for this EASY, light, lovely rendition. It's my new favorite! Better than Moosewood's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Doug I just finished making this soup and I can't stop eating it. Thank you for this fantastically delicious recipe. I'm a happy camper tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Easy way to get more veggies in my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I love this recipe and followed Sandra's review advice. I use chicken broth as well, for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
D-lish, quick and inexpensive! I made this recipe with 1/2 mushroom broth and 1/2 veggie broth, substituted olive oil and added 3 cloves garlic. After I blended the ingredients I thought it was somewhat bland so I added about 2 more tsp curry, fresh ginger, dash of cayenne and a dash of cinnamon. The final product was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This Recipe is great, especially on a cold night! I made a few modifications to the recipe, instead of adding two cups of water after processing in the blender I added two cups of 1% milk. This kept the texture smooth and creamy without taking away from the great flavour. Also, I replaced the curry with cumin, thyme and paprika and traded Veggie broth for chicken it was delicious..................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States