Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I only used three cups of broth but I have learned over the years that my family expects a thicker butternut squash soup than most people like. Awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Incredible! Soo yummy! Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
A wonderful,slightly spicy and tasty soup. I added a pinch of nutmeg but that was the only change. My husband and I got 3 meals out of it. I will probably make it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
PERFECT FALL SOUP! I always thought making soup would take so long and never wanted to spend hours doing it, but this one is so easy! you can cook everything else while the squash is baking and it is ready in no time. Plus it is so delicious. We tried it with and without the half and half and didn't really notice a difference, so we leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I thought this was really good, my husband thought it was ok, and my teenage daughter did not like. I guess that averages out to 3 star. I made exactly as written except cooked the squash for about 1 hr 15 minutes. Did not have parchment paper so used foil, dull side up, sprayed with Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Wonderful! I'm fond of green pepper with butternut squash so I added some diced with the onion. I don't understand the right time to use pears, they were too fibrous compared to the other ingredients. Next time, I'll try canned pears or the coconut soup that someone suggested. My teenagers didn't care for it, but it's OK- more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernoullisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
For years, I have been trying to find the perfect butternut squash soup recipe and this might be it. My husband and I both loved it, and it was so easy. The ginger, curry, and pear make it amazing. I pretty much followed the recipe, but used milk because I didn't have half and half, and one large very ripe yellow pear was all I had- and it was plenty. I used my immersion blender, which is easier, safer, and neater. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Based on the reviews, I figured this soup would be amazing, so I doubled it right off the bat. I was skeptical, but after blending everything, it was soooo tasty!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made this and it was very, very good! I used coconut milk instead of half and half and put 3 habenero peppers in with the garlic/onions etc. It was delicious and had a nice kick to it! I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very tasty stuff! I made it exactly as intended the first time and enjoyed it greatly. The second time I roasted the garlic and pears alongside the squash (which definitely takes more like 90 mins to roast) and substituted a half can of light coconut milk for the cream. I threw in a bit of cayenne too. YUM, and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States