Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I give it a 5 but the family friendly factor is a 4. Kiddos didn't go for this unique flavor. I loved the richness down to the last drop and even considered licking the bowl clean of its creamy coating! Yumtastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I used whole milk instead of half and half and 3 pears. I also omitted the ginger because I didn't have any. I boiled the squash ahead of time, peeled and chopped it, and added it to the soup. I boiled the onion in the chicken broth instead of sauteing it in butter, and then added the butter in later after pureeing the soup. This soup had a very strong, distinct flavor. It wasn't too runny or thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So delicious!!! I made this for my daughter's fourth birthday party, with a Tangled theme, when I couldn't think of a good hazelnut soup recipe. I was amazed when all the adults and kids went back for more! I served it with a bowl of toasted hazelnuts to sprinkle, which added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Didn't change a thing. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter as well as adding 1tsp cinnamon. Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! This is a keeper for life and the tweaking possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this soup several times. I added carrots to it, and it came out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this on a chilly autumn afternoon. Very warm and comforting. Definitely one of my favorite soups EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This flavorful soup is amazingly delicious, with or without the milk (we've made it without by accident a few times and it turned out fine)! I also like to add more spices than the recipe calls for, but I do that with all recipes:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Heavy on the ginger, but that may have been me. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is so delicious! I used a splash of half and half and the rest coconut almond milk to cut the fat and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States