Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter as well as adding 1tsp cinnamon. Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! This is a keeper for life and the tweaking possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this soup several times. I added carrots to it, and it came out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Made this on a chilly autumn afternoon. Very warm and comforting. Definitely one of my favorite soups EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This flavorful soup is amazingly delicious, with or without the milk (we've made it without by accident a few times and it turned out fine)! I also like to add more spices than the recipe calls for, but I do that with all recipes:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Heavy on the ginger, but that may have been me. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is so delicious! I used a splash of half and half and the rest coconut almond milk to cut the fat and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I had a bumper crop of butternut squash from my garden this year. I was looking for something different to make with it and came across this recipe. To make this vegan, I used oil instead of the butter, vegetable broth instead of the chicken broth and coconut milk instead of the dairy milk. I also added a small pinch of red pepper flakes when sauteing the onions. It was simple to make and had a nice flavor. I liked the sweetness added from the pears. Even though this seemed like a sufficient amount of curry powder it wasn't very pronounced. If I make this again I will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
After years of just logging on and looking at recipies, I joined to say how amazing (and simple) this soup was to make. We grow winter squash (not butternut, but close enough) and have 3 pear trees so I was looking for something to do with the tons of each we have right now. WOW was this the best find ever. The soup is absolutely fahntastic - complex and delicious. I was too lazy to peel the pears and it didn't seen to hurt the taste at all - it may have even been a plus. I also didn't have any heavy cream on hand so just used more butter and whole milk which seems to have worked fine because I can't imagine it tasting any better. Interestingly, while I can't "taste" the pears in the soup, it tastes like there is a bit of brandy or sherry in it which I assume is coming from the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've made this before and liked it fine but decided it needed more. So this time I accidentally used 4 Tbsp butter and added 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, some coriander - maybe 1/2 tsp, 1/4 tsp pepper, a couple of small pinches of red pepper flakes, 2 cloves of garlic - because I like garlic, 1 pear, and some milk maybe 1 to 1-1/2 cups until it wasn't too thick anymore. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
No one in my house cared for this soup. I thought it sounded great, but it was not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States