Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Yum! To make it easier, use frozen cubed butternut squash and a stick blender in the pot. Also I didn't peel the pears so I didn't lose the nutrients and fiber in the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Quite Good. Use an immersion blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
AMAZING! I used light coconut milk, ground ginger, nutmeg, and cinnamon, onions, frozen butternut squash, 3 small pears, curry, garlic powder. I roasted the pears (not peeled), squash, and onion together while I put the other ingredients on high in the crock pot. 45 minutes after roasting I added to the crock pot and cooked on high 1-2 hours. Then I used the immersion blender and was done. I topped with Trader Joe's pumpkin croutons...heaven!!! The only reason I changed the recipe was to use what I had on hand and to be quick while taking care of my little one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Okay. I like my butternut squash a little sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I love the taste of this but not the consistancy. I expected it to be creamier. I did in fact make some changes but only because of time limits. I put all ingredients in the crock pot on low for 5 hours. I then blended and put back in the crockpot and added half and half. In my opinion I was hoping it would have been creamier. Next time I think I will make it the same way but cut down on the chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
We make a Paleo version of this with coconut oil or ghee instead of butter and then we leave out the half and half. It is superb and a go to soup for home or gatherings. When I have time, I get extra pears and make pearsauce (like applesauce) and then garnish the soup with a dollop of the pearsauce (much chunkier than applesauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sanger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made a double batch of this soup. Very easy and omg delicious. I skipped the cream but otherwise stuck to recipe. Rather than use the blender I used an imersion blender. Easier and less mess. I had a large squash from our garden to use but will buy more as I loved this soup. So healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I roast the squash whole on foil directly on the oven rack. Turn over half way during cooking. Remove from oven. Let squash cool some, cut off top then slice lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Made this with half curry powder and half gram masala. Used 1T.each ginger and garlic, minced. Also coconut milk instead of half and half. This is one to put on the rotation. YUM! Thanks..... blancdeblanc for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love this soup. Be ready for it to stink up your house. The curry smell lingers. Also, if you are living Paleo or Whole 30 it fits with the diet if you skip the half and half (you could sub coconut milk but it's not needed) and replace the butter with ghee or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I was so scared, as I am often not a big fan of curry, but this soup was great! Wonderful comfort food! Creamy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States