Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely, but added 1/2 of a large sweet potato---just because I had one. I roasted it with the squash and proceeded as suggested with the combined vegetables. I loved the soup! It's delicious and beautiful. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Absolutely loved this soup and got raves from everyone who tried it. I also used coconut milk and drizzled it with a bit of hazelnut oil to finish. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Made this exactly as directed and my husband and I thought it was great. Have made it several times since. As a garnish at serving, we put in pealed apple pieces tossed in cinnamon, which we think really makes the dish perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This was a great recipe! I live on an island six miles off of the coast of Maine, so I have to "improvise" a bit, more often than not. Here's what I did: I had two regular size bags of frozen butternut squash that had been peeled, seeded, etc. I baked all of the squash in a 375 oven for 30 minutes (less time because they were smaller pieces). I cooked the onion, garlic, ginger, curry, chicken broth, salt and pepper, along with the chopped pears. I used a little less ginger and curry with the idea that I could add more, if needed. I didn't need to add more--so, I guess, my suggestion would be to go slow on the ginger and curry. I didn't use my blender, but instead, used a potato masher to break up the squash and pear pieces. It worked great, and left some satisfying chunks. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This soup, for some people, is really good like it is. For ME, it was better when I toned down the heat from the curry with about a cup of unsweetened applesauce, and added some just a tad of sweetness with a cup or so of apple cider. (I had about 2 1/2-3 pounds of squash, so the cider didn't make it runny.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I thought this was really good and the curry was just right and not overpowering. I would definitely make it again just as written, no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Followed this recipe to the letter; I'm sorry. Every one of the members of my family asked if we were having baby food for dinner. My older daughters tried valiantly to eat it, by my four-year-old candidly said it was the worst flavor ever. You might chalk that up to the finicky palates of children, but I am a lover of Thai and Indian foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Really great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alma Gunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Made this recipe again last night. I love it everytime. I again half a block of cream cheese at the end instead of half and half. It was just as good. Except if I add cream cheese next time I will run it through the blender because it took forever to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is probably the best butternut squash soup I've ever tasted. I've made it like 3 times now, and the last time I made I didn't have any half and half so I put in an entire can of coconut cream. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States