Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe on the weekend and it was fantastic. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used coconut milk instead of the half and half. I chose to use a couple of carrots instead of the pears and it turned out lovely. I'm going to get pears next time - I think their sweetness will be amazing with the curry and squash. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
wow. The reviews for this recipe are spot on. It's even better than it sounds. I did a few things differently by roasting the pear and onion as well...but the concept remained the same. I steamed the butternut for about 10 minutes (cut it in half, scoop out seeds and put it cut side down in a baking dish with 1/4 inch of water). Then pour off the water, peel and cut the squash into 1 inch cubes, add the pears (peeled, cored and quartered) and the onion (chopped) to the baking sheet. Toss with a bit of evoo. Bake about 35-40 minutes or until beginning to caramelize. Continue with the recipe as directed. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. I omitted the salt and the cream to keep it healthier and used apples as that's what I had in the fridge. I also cubed the squash and baked it so that it was ready more quickly. This was delicious! I added a tsp of hot curry paste while the soup was simmering for an extra kick. Awesome - I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I don't even like curry, but I loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellent Fall soup - YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good...did not change a thing. Made it for a Thanksgiving '11 starter. I made it the day before and before serving rewarmed and added cream then. I prefered it with the cream. Could really not have been any easier...but, is like a soup you would get at a high end restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This soup was a hit as a starter for Thanksgiving! Tastes great just the way it was. Cream is optional since it's so thick on it's own without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great recipe! My mother in law raved about it, which has to count for something, right? I added 1/2C brown sugar/Splenda blend and a little extra half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Absokutely wonderful. The only tweaking I did was to add cyanne powder at the end to taste. The heat really elivated the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is my absolute favourite soup! The curry and pear combination tastes fantastic and everyone who tries it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monalisa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States