Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious. I made it as is and it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This recipe is excellent!!! I'm following Dr. Jergens Clean program so I had to make only 2 modifications. I switched out the butter for coconut oil and I switched out the cream for coconut milk. This soup really blew me away. Its soooo good and super easy. Perfect for my to-go lunches. I highly suggest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Has some good bones. I found the curry a little over-powering, and probably should have let my pears ripen a little more. As other people have said, you'll need to let your squash cook closer to an hour. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is fantastic....but then again, it has some of my favorite foods in it! I thought it would be a little time consuming, due to the blending, but it really wasn't bad. I enjoy kitchen time, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yummy! Turned out soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I followed the directions as written with the exception of adding skim milk instead of half & half. It was good, but I will continue to look elsewhere for that "over-the-top" butternut squash soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was so weird, I just had to try it. It was incredible. And I hate soup. We even put scallops in it, after trying it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Curried Butternut Squash with Basil and Baked Apple (Variation): I used a pint of pears I canned this summer, a sprinkle of ground cloves and used heavy cream instead of the half and half (I didn't have any). The soup was yummy, but didn't say WOW! ... until I garnished each bowl with fresh basil leaves and *baked apples. It added that extra eye appeal and gourmet taste I was looking for. *To make by "baked apples" I peeled and chopped up apple chunks and simmered them in a little water (covered). After they were soft, I added brown sugar and cinnamon to taste. It's basically a quick homemade version of applesauce. I don't mash is up because the apple chunks added great texture to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I love the results this recipe produces. I also love that it is a very flexible base from which to create variations. Personally, I prefer a very flavorful combination of butternut squash, Granny Smith apples, onions, and garlic. But I've also been quite happy with butternut squash and pumpkin. And I'm just as happy using olive oil and no cream as when using butter plus cream. Simply put, you can do just about anything you want with this recipe. Use squash and parsnips, squash and carrots, extra curry powder and cinnamon rather than the ginger, etc. Use this recipe as a starting base and use whatever ingredients you have in your fridge and whatever seasonings appeal to you at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States