Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Okay. I like my butternut squash a little sweeter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I love the taste of this but not the consistancy. I expected it to be creamier. I did in fact make some changes but only because of time limits. I put all ingredients in the crock pot on low for 5 hours. I then blended and put back in the crockpot and added half and half. In my opinion I was hoping it would have been creamier. Next time I think I will make it the same way but cut down on the chicken broth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
We make a Paleo version of this with coconut oil or ghee instead of butter and then we leave out the half and half. It is superb and a go to soup for home or gatherings. When I have time, I get extra pears and make pearsauce (like applesauce) and then garnish the soup with a dollop of the pearsauce (much chunkier than applesauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sanger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made a double batch of this soup. Very easy and omg delicious. I skipped the cream but otherwise stuck to recipe. Rather than use the blender I used an imersion blender. Easier and less mess. I had a large squash from our garden to use but will buy more as I loved this soup. So healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe. I roast the squash whole on foil directly on the oven rack. Turn over half way during cooking. Remove from oven. Let squash cool some, cut off top then slice lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Made this with half curry powder and half gram masala. Used 1T.each ginger and garlic, minced. Also coconut milk instead of half and half. This is one to put on the rotation. YUM! Thanks..... blancdeblanc for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I love this soup. Be ready for it to stink up your house. The curry smell lingers. Also, if you are living Paleo or Whole 30 it fits with the diet if you skip the half and half (you could sub coconut milk but it's not needed) and replace the butter with ghee or olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I was so scared, as I am often not a big fan of curry, but this soup was great! Wonderful comfort food! Creamy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very tasty!!! I didn't add the half and half as the flavor was so rich already and I tend to be dairy sensitive. Next time I will experiment with almond and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
We got one of the 10 pound beauties so I made this last week and this week. Last week I froze two quarts of soup and this week it was all gone. Last week I adhered exactly this week I added one-half pound of carrots. I only had two small pears so threw in a can and this recipe is a keeper. Makes squash a favorite in my house. Note: used the immersion blender following other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangentTom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Phenomenal!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States