Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Wow!!! 5-Star as-is, no changes. I'd like to say that it was fantastic with 1 1/2 lbs. of frozen cubed squash, making it a year-round recipe (and is much easier). Next time I'm going to double the recipe and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was really good!! I just used a 2 pound bag of already cut up butternut squash from Trader Joes. I used 2 Anjou pears instead of Barlett. No half and half is necessary at all. I also added a pinch of Cayenne pepper for an extra kick. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Went a little heavier on the garlic and ginger (3 cloves and about a 2 TBSP of ginger). A little lighter on the butter (2 TBSP), and substituted low fat coconut milk for the half and half... excellent result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
UPDATE: Here's a SUPER EASY way to make this soup and it still tastes just as amazing. After you brown the garlic and onions in butter (I cut back on the butter and use half a pack of frozen onions), throw in a 20 oz pack of pre-cut butternut squash and optionally about a cup of baby carrots. Add the seasonings (I use 2 tsp of curry powder instead of the full tbsp) and the broth and let it cook. While it cooks, cut up the two pears and throw them in. Blend when done! Oh. Emm. Gee. Did I really just make this super delicious soup? I followed the recipe pretty exactly for once (I didn't want to mess with the combination of unusual flavors!) and It turned out amazing! I actually baked the butternut squash (whole with holes poked for an hour on 400) and scooped out the meat the day before and had it sit in the fridge overnight with a little salt and pepper mixed in. Here's the couple of changes that I did make or rather had to make. I used frozen chopped onion (about half a pack), Comice pears (because that's all I had), and added a couple of sliced carrots to the soup because my squash was on the smaller side. I skipped the half-and-half initially, just swirled some on top right before serving. The guests loved it too! For those that may be curious, it didn't taste too exotic or anything. It just tasted like really really good butternut squash soup similar to the one from Atlanta Bread Company actually! Thank you for such a wonderful and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Absolutely Loved it!!! Wouldn't change a thing!! Will be making again!! Used pre-cut store bought fresh squash and roasted at 350 for 30 min- that cut down significantly on the prep time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have made this twice and have figured it out what works best for me re: taste. Here are the additions/changes that I made. 1. Omitted pears and used two small apples instead 2. Added a handful of baby carrots 3. Added cinnamon and nutmeg 4. Reduced chicken broth to 3 cups. RE: baking squash, I just put the entire squash in the oven at 400 and baked for just over an hour (make sure you jab it with a fork/knife so that it doesn't burst in the oven). Once the squash it cooked, it's so much easier to cut it and peel it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Wonderful! Used salted butter, veggie broth instead of chicken broth, didn't measure anything, garnished with cilantro & black pepper, served with Naan. Sooo good! Kinda fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I'm not a big soup person, but I love this as a tasty fall soup! We use sour cream or plain yogurt in place of the half and half for a lighter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I only used three cups of broth but I have learned over the years that my family expects a thicker butternut squash soup than most people like. Awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Incredible! Soo yummy! Perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States