Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
From three people who do NOT like squash--this soup is delicious. I only had one pear so I added a cup of applesauce. I also only put a dash of half and half. The curry makes it taste like an Indian soup. I wouldn't have known it was a squash soup if I didn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Ridiculous, actually. Butternut Squash soup is one of my favorites to order in the fall/winter; this recipe is on par with the best I've ever had from a restaurant. Only slight changes to the recipe (based on what wasn't in my fridge/cupboard): I used powdered ginger (same amount as called for) and skim milk vs. half and half. Also, I was in a hurry so I was still baking my squash while the rest of the ingredients simmered, but it didn't seem to matter. Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Everyone asks me for this recipe and I've made it MUCH easier for days that I have school. I make it in the slow cooker! No roasting, no chopping into uniform pieces. Here's how it works: I put the crockpot on HIGH with the butter, onions and garlic for about 30 mins, until the onions are translucent. Then I stir in the curry and ginger (sometimes I use powdered ginger if I'm out of fresh). It makes a paste at the bottom of the crock pot. Then I throw in the stock, pears and squash, which I just core and cut into HUGE chunks. DO NOT PEEL! The fiber is good for you and they all soften by the end of the cooking time and are pureed into the soup. Then I just let simmer on LOW 8 hours or HIGH for 5 hours. All of the squash and pears are super soft at that time, so I just stick in my immersion blender, puree it all, pour in cream and voila! Also, if you are with a vegan friend, omitting the cream does no harm to this recipe.... and this comes from a die hard full fat dairy lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC8371

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Made this for a ladies lunch date and impressed my friends! They were also happy with the swirl of coconut milk I added before putting on the sprinkle of nutmeg just before serving. Fantastic flavors and a light texture. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Delicious! Only had acorn squash, so used that instead. Also used canned pears instead of fresh. Cooking the squash in the microwave and using the canned pears cut the cooking time dramatically! Probably done in a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I give it a 5 but the family friendly factor is a 4. Kiddos didn't go for this unique flavor. I loved the richness down to the last drop and even considered licking the bowl clean of its creamy coating! Yumtastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I used whole milk instead of half and half and 3 pears. I also omitted the ginger because I didn't have any. I boiled the squash ahead of time, peeled and chopped it, and added it to the soup. I boiled the onion in the chicken broth instead of sauteing it in butter, and then added the butter in later after pureeing the soup. This soup had a very strong, distinct flavor. It wasn't too runny or thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
So delicious!!! I made this for my daughter's fourth birthday party, with a Tangled theme, when I couldn't think of a good hazelnut soup recipe. I was amazed when all the adults and kids went back for more! I served it with a bowl of toasted hazelnuts to sprinkle, which added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Didn't change a thing. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter as well as adding 1tsp cinnamon. Amazing! Amazing! Amazing! This is a keeper for life and the tweaking possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States