Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Oh yeah, this is delicious! By accident, I used three times more ginger (2 Tbsp instead of 2 tsp) than called for, but it sure didn't hurt this flavourful soup. I'll try it next time with the amount called for and see which I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Best butternut squash soup yet - the pear flavour is lovely. If you live somewhere wher you get smaller pears (we are in Northern Canada), use three to ensure you get the nice taste and texture of the pear too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This soup is amazing! I roasted the pears with the squash as others suggested. Will be making this for Thanksgiving dinner for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wow! This soup was so yummy. I didn't have half and half so I used coconut milk instead. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This soup is delicious! The squash, pear, and curry flavors go well together. I used plain yogurt instead of half and half and the soup was nice and creamy that way, but with fewer calories. Hold the lid of the blender tightly when you blend the soup - the hot soup can really blast the lid off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Made this for a dinner party, blind dining, guests loved the flavour and all raved about the soup. Tasted the soup prior to adding the 1/2 and 1/2 and really it is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
first, get a stick blender and just blend in the pan. I made this recipe twice now, once with pears, once without. I like it both ways. Has a really nice combination of flavors. I was afraid on the 2nd time because I used regular (salted butter) and chicken base (again salted) and still put in the tsp of salt. I was afraid it was going to be too salty, but it was fine. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Yellow summer squash is great, too. I substituted by accident since I did not notice I had the wrong kind until after I had all the other ingredients together. It was great even with summer squash instead of butternut. Curry is the secret ingredient. Love it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made this as an appetizer for Christmas dinner and LOVED it!! Made it again recently as main course with salad - so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was tasty - my daughter who loves curry thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States