Curried Beef with Winter Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Delicious! I added some vegetable stock and rosemary to the chicken (I had no beef) while cooking and substituted 1 extra carrot and 1 extra potato because I had no parsnips. I left out the raisins and used peanuts too. It turned out great, but I'm sure it would have even without the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Great flavor and wonderful seasonings but I made a lot of revisions. First I used 2 pounds stew meat rather than 1/2, and I didn't boil the beef, I dredged it in seasoned and browned it, then set it aside. I omitted parsnips (what are parsnips anyway?) and zucchini. Rather than go through the whole roasting pan ordeal, I dumped the browned beef & 1 can of beef broth into the pot with veggies, added a cup of water put the lid on & simmered for about 1 1/2 hours. The only change I will make next time would be to add the apples about half way through, because they were a bit soggy after cooking. Other than that, it's DELICIOUS! Wasn't too spicy for my kids either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKSATTLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was heavenly! And wow, did it smell good cooking. I think you could use just about any combination of vegetables and it would work. We served it with saffron rice and naan, and it was delicious. Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Fantastic! A flavorful escape from our norm and even the kids enjoyed it. I forgot to buy the beef so we did just the vegetables and used beef broth as the liquid (also threw in a rutabaga). The house smelled so good while it was cooking. We used extra garlic but still found that the ginger was the strongest flavor. Looking for the 5 spice, I found Dukkah blend at Trader Joe's: almonds, sesame seeds, fennel seeds, coriander, anise seeds, and kosher salt. Used about a tablespoon of that with the curry and turmeric but forgot to add cinnamon and cloves. Overall, it was better than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe!! We only used half of the recipe, the other half went in the freezer. So to half of this recipe, I added 1 can coconut milk, (just because we love it, and it makes a nice sauce) tablespoon of mango chutney, more curry powder, and used left over roast beef, which I added near the end of the baking time, with the apples. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
A good spicy meal. My hubby made it while I was out and I came home to the house smelling yummy! The spice was a little much for me but perfect for my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Just ok. Served this over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a delicious curry and excellent way to use up left over root vegetables. I added a can of coconut milk to the recipe. It had a bit more spice than I like, but my husband found it just right. It was perfect for a cold winter night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The spices are nice, but made it a stoup instead of baking, made few adjustments since I don't like the bland result. So I added 2 tablespoon sugar, 1 tablespoons Thai yellow curry paste, 150ml coconut milk (not too thick). I add in apple at the end. If you mix a bit of couscous or oatmeal, garnish with coriander leaves, it becomes a full meal and tastes wonderful, very light beef curry stoup, the coconut milk does wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Interesting. I made it with boca burger instead of beef and eggplant as I did not have zucchini. And more of potatoes instead of pasnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States