Curried Apple and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
WOW! Can I give this recipe 10 stars?? I had my doubts going in that it would end up tasting funky, but the combination of flavors was wonderful and I didn't even have to add any salt at the end b/c it was so flavorful. I used two large leeks (about 1.5 lbs) with both the green and white parts, 2 lunchbox sized Granny Smith apples (0.75 lbs), double the amount of potatoes (1.5 cups), the full 2 tsp of curry powder, and 3 cups of chicken broth. I substituted olive oil for margarine. After simmering for 30 minutes, I was tempted to leave the soup whole and un-pureed because I really liked the texture of the softened leeks, but the puree-ing actually blended the flavors together very nicely. Adding the yogurt was a nice touch of sourness and temperature difference with the warm soup. I would absolutely make this recipe again. I think it would be very impressive to serve to guests as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This soup was great!! I followed the recipe to the letter except I used cream cheese instead of yogurt. While cooking, adding 3 cups of vegetable broth didn't cover the leeks & veggies, and I was worried that I'd have to add some water -- but I threw the top on and kept checking it and it cooked down perfectly. My neighbor says this one is worth 6 stars. :) I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This soup turned out awesome! I used a small butternut squash and two sweet potatoes in place of the regular potatoes and I added extra curry powder and some red pepper flakes to give it more of a kick. After I blended it, I added (already cooked) Trader Joe's Brown Rice Medley to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_O

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. The store had no leeks and so, despite being Welsh, I used broccoli and it was splendid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Love it - easy, super-healthy, and filling. Followed the recipe exactly and it was just perfect. The apple flavor doesn't come through, but that's not a problem, it adds a nice texture to the soup and that's what the most important. I used a little more potato than it called for, to make it thicker. Thanks for the recipe! I will make this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This is really good! I probably used more curry than called for, and added a little coriander and red pepper flakes (I like spicy soups!). kept the apple peels on (you can't tell after you blend it all together anyway), and left out the potatoes to make it more diet-friendly...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
It was good but if you want more of an apple taste you really need to add more. Definitely makes a different w/yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used all the ingredients as specified (except I used Free-range Organic Chicken Broth), chopped in my VitaMix before cooking then pureed after cooking. This may seem like a lot of extra effort ~ It was worth it! All the ingredients blended very nicely together. Nothing over powering. Nice texture and flavor. We used our dollop of plain yogurt and served with fresh homemade rustic biscuits (daughter's recipe) and ice tea. Simple meal, very filling and will have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very good flavor and texture. I'd use a little less curry next time. The apple flavor definitely came through, but was a little overpowered by the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is an easy and fine recipe. Having said that, some folks found that it tasted like apple compote. I didn't... I thought it had a three tiered flavor, starting with apple, having leek in the middle and curry as a pleasant aftertaste. You could still taste the apples rawness with the suggested times, I'd probably cook them slightly longer next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCALPENA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States