Currant Jelly Wiener Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I cannot begin to tell you how amazing this recipe's sauce is. I first made these for a potluck dinner party last year. They were a *huge* hit. I began making them for other potluck events. Now all my invites to such parties are conditioned with a "as long as you bring your famous cocktail wieners". I am repeatedly asked for the recipe. Again, the sauce is what is to rave about with this recipe. In the end, the cocktail wieners almost serve simply as a means to an end; eating the sauce. :) For something different, try substituting small pieces of (cooked) chicken breast; this is also a yummy treat. I have also slow cooked chicken breasts in this sauce for an amazingly tasty main dish. This is an easy to make recipe with fantastic results. As other reviewers have said, the key is to slow cook it. The longer the better. While the actual cook time is long, the actual prep time and "in the kitchen" time is very minimal. You must give it a try. A note on what sizes of items to purchase if you do not want any extras; a 12oz jar of Red Currant Jelly is exactly 1 cup. A 12oz bottle of Dijon mustard is a little bit more then the 1 cup you will need. A 10oz bottle would probably be the perfect size, but I have never found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Awesome, will definitely use again and again!!!!! Have noticed that several people haven't found the red current jelly this calls for. If you have a Kroger store in your area-they almost always carry it-and if they don't-they can order it in for you.Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
this was probably the best lil' smokie recipe I have ever tried, and a great change from the usual bbq sauce, or frying. SO easy to make, I had to quadruple this recipe, an hour into my party they were all wiped out - and none were left after 3 more servings were made! I found the red current jelly at Albertson's. The longer they cook, the better they taste, and the musard really cools off and the flavors combine nicely after a few hours in the cooker. I will DEFINITELY make these again, they were the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is a fantastic sauce. I've made it using both Dijon and standard yellow mustard; both sauces were well-received. One guest even attempted to *drink* the sauce. (I don't recommend this.) It's a sweet sauce with twang, and much richer than standard weiner sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
This is the best tasting sauce I have ever had. Everyone that I have fed it to loves it. I can't find the currant sauce anywhere though, so I use concord grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Yummy!!! I used a 16oz jar of the jelly from Whole Foods- actually came to 1 1/2 cups. Be sure to drain your lil smokies before dumping them in! Cook at least 4 hours. A very popular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Yummy! Especially if you're like me, and like that sort of sweet and salty combination. We used Muscadine Grape jelly instead of the Current, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are very good. I was looking for something my mom used to fix for parties when I was a kid but these are better. I fixed a quarter batch on the stove just so I could try them before preparing a double batch for a family picnic tomorrow. I added what would be 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp ground ginger in a full batch to give it a little zing. I thought they were very good and my wife finished them off as soon as she walked in the door. If they're a hit tomorrow I'll edit this. Edit: They were a huge hit with almost all 8 lbs disappearing. Several people wanted the recipe. I've had versions of these since the 1960s and these are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I liked the sauce but don't eat too many. I ate about 30 for my new years eve party and I spent New years with my head in the toilet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a super easy recipe to follow and fun to make because I really did not think it would be appetizing at all while I was mixing it. First of all, I hate mustard. If it even touches my finger I have to rinse it or wipe it off immediately. However, I am not against eating things with mustard as an ingredient like deviled eggs or potato salad. So this was definitely a risky recipe for me to try, but after reading all the rave reviews it had gotten, I just had to go for it! It certainly fills your kitchen with a very pungent, unfamiliar smell that is indeed quite pleasant. When I took my lil' experiments over to my friends house for a party with lots of different food, I told a few people how I had made the lil' smokies and soon enough other people were coming up to me asking how I had made them with their eyebrows raised and noses krinkled. Needless to say, they were an absolute hit and I decided to keep the unopened bottles to make this again very soon! If you want to be a big hit at the next party you go to/throw, whip this dish up and bring lots of toothpicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States