Currant Jelly Wiener Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I made this as an appetizer for my son's birthday party and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This was a very easy good recipe and my guest loved them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This is a great recipe that my husband loves. I have been using it for about 4 years now and I love to especially make them on Sundays for football. You know it is football season at my house when the weinies are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My friends loved this recipe. I just thought it was ok, but since everyone else liked it so well, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
I made these for a graduation party, and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Thought these were pretty average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I cannot begin to tell you how amazing this recipe's sauce is. I first made these for a potluck dinner party last year. They were a *huge* hit. I began making them for other potluck events. Now all my invites to such parties are conditioned with a "as long as you bring your famous cocktail wieners". I am repeatedly asked for the recipe. Again, the sauce is what is to rave about with this recipe. In the end, the cocktail wieners almost serve simply as a means to an end; eating the sauce. :) For something different, try substituting small pieces of (cooked) chicken breast; this is also a yummy treat. I have also slow cooked chicken breasts in this sauce for an amazingly tasty main dish. This is an easy to make recipe with fantastic results. As other reviewers have said, the key is to slow cook it. The longer the better. While the actual cook time is long, the actual prep time and "in the kitchen" time is very minimal. You must give it a try. A note on what sizes of items to purchase if you do not want any extras; a 12oz jar of Red Currant Jelly is exactly 1 cup. A 12oz bottle of Dijon mustard is a little bit more then the 1 cup you will need. A 10oz bottle would probably be the perfect size, but I have never found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
These were good but not amazing. People ate them but didn't rave about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Gave this 5 stars because it was a huge hit at our annual Christmas party and I think people should try this recipe out! Even my picky 4.5 year old ate it up. If it were just me, I'd give it 4 because c'mon, it's just little weiners in jelly, mustard and ketchup sauce! Not exactly gourmet fare here. I was sceptical because of the nature of the dish, but I found it delicious as well! Anyway, I used sliced kielbasa instead of the little smokies. I also simmered it in the slow cooker for almost 5 hours. After 2 hours it was still pretty mustardy, but at some point between 4-5 hours, the sauce started becoming a saucy glaze on the sausage and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
A unique spin on traditional grape-jelly-and-heinz wiener sauce that has been a family favorite for a few years. Everyone loves this sauce and remarks on how tangy--and addictive!--it is. This is the only wiener sauce recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States