Currant Jelly Wiener Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
These were pretty good, but by no means the "hit" of the baby shower I hosted. Had plenty of leftovers, which my husband and his friends loved. The sauce was kind of creamy, which I didn't expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
These are very good. I was looking for something my mom used to fix for parties when I was a kid but these are better. I fixed a quarter batch on the stove just so I could try them before preparing a double batch for a family picnic tomorrow. I added what would be 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp ground ginger in a full batch to give it a little zing. I thought they were very good and my wife finished them off as soon as she walked in the door. If they're a hit tomorrow I'll edit this. Edit: They were a huge hit with almost all 8 lbs disappearing. Several people wanted the recipe. I've had versions of these since the 1960s and these are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were not very good. The sauce was way too mustardy. I made a large crock full for a party and ended up throwing a lot out. I followed the recipe exactly. Sounds like I'm in the minority reading the other reviews, but I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FishinWidow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This is a simple and yummy appetizer! It is now a staple for our annual Halloween Party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Great recipe! The longer it cooks the better it tastes. Cooked on Low for about 2 and a half hours, and on high for about 45 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Bonnar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very easy to make and tasted very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Love this!! I remembered my mom making weiners with currant jelly, and I was thrilled to find this recipe. It's great for get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Served this at Christmas dinner 2005 and was hoping to have leftovers. We didn't, I think my husband thought they were dessert. I followed the recipe to a T and it was just like I remembered from the 80s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was great. I scalled the recipe for 50 people and it came out great! Leftovers weren't as good as the 1st day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Yummy!!! I used a 16oz jar of the jelly from Whole Foods- actually came to 1 1/2 cups. Be sure to drain your lil smokies before dumping them in! Cook at least 4 hours. A very popular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States