Cupcake Graveyard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SwedePotato
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Beautiful - a hit at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
My Husband and I made these for our sons 1st grade Halloween party yesterday. They were such a hit!! And so easy to make. My previous cupcake decorations took a few hours to create but this was so cute and simple. I used Milano cookies for the tombstones and wrote RIP in black with little orange crosses I also added a little candy pumpkin next to the grave. The looked and tasted great. I also used french vanilla cake mix instead of chocolate because it tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made these for a Halloween party and they were just too cute. I, too used milano cookies for the tombstones, green icing as in the picture and cookie crumbs for the dirt. I also made some with nutter butter cookies that I dipped in white chocolate to look like little ghosts coming out of the ground. Thanks for a fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These cupcakes are adorable! I've wanted to make them for a couple years and finally did. The way the recipe is written sounds great, but I decided to use Milano cookies for the tombstones and was going to make chocolate cupcakes with green frosting (white frosting and green food coloring), but the store only had chocolate frosting so I used that. I put little mallow creme pumpkins next to the tomb stones. Delicious and very charming! My advice is to wait until you're about to serve them before putting the tombstones in because the part in the cupcake gets soft, and try to put the tombstone more towards the middle so the cupcake doesn't break. Someone gave this a bad review because they covered the cupcakes with saran wrap. There is absolutely no need to keep the cupcakes covered, if you're worried about them drying out, just spread the frosting all the way to the paper holder edges to seal the surface. Thanks for the cute idea, I want to try the barbie arms too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
The cupcakes were wonderful! I enjoyed them! I think everyone should try this! I would make these for any ocassions. for christmas and any. I will just change the halloween decoration if I make them for other ocassions. But they are great! I did switch up some ingredients though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Loved this recipe and it turned out so cute but when i covered them and took them to work the cookies soaked up the moisture of the cupcakes and they became soft an all the tombstones broke and fell over! I don't know if you can just not cover them or if you should just not put the cookies in until day you are going to serve them. That is the only reason I give this only 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Use clean plastic doll parts as decorations. A fresh grave with a Barbie arm (or two) sticking out is frightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The first to go at the Halloween party pitch in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUMAHA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I made this for a Halloween party and it turned out pretty cute. I didn't have a muffin pan, so I made a cake instead of cupcakes. I frosted with chocolate frosting and used green sugar for grass. Instead of putting the cookie crumbs over the whole thing, I put them in little mounds in front of each "tombstone" to look like a freshly dug grave. It is a little putzy to make but worth it since Halloween only comes around once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I brought this dish to a Halloween party and they went so fast I didn't even get to try one! Good thing I saved one at home... One tip though: don't use chocolate frosting, you don't get the same colour effect as you do when mixing the vanilla frosting and cookie crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States