Cumin Rubbed Chicken with Avocado Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This dish sounded good, but it turned out to taste great! I can't believe how much flavor the simple rub added. The avocado-based topping was delicious, and just eating that with the rice I cooked up and served under the chicken was tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiorill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This sounded like a bland dish, but it actually had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is a nice, light summer recipe. I just drizzled evoo on thin chicken cutletes and brushed until even, sprinked the seasonings on, and repeated on the other side. Hubs grilled until crispy. I prepared the salsa without cuke, just not a fan, and added a drizzle of evoo and squeeze of lime, S & P. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was the single greatest chicken recipe I have ever eaten in my entire life. Followed it exactly. Served the salsa over a rice/quinoa mix. New favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I used some chili powder and a little more seasoning than the recipe calls for, but oh my goodness! I added a splash of red wine vinegar to the salsa mixture and I cooked the chicken on the grill, but in a foil tray with the olive oil and dripped a little lime juice on it as it cooked. This is a new favorite in my house and I can't wait to make it again. Superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinichin
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was outstanding! I made this for my husband and his response was that he didn't deserve a wife that cooked so well - haha! We licked our plates clean, that's for sure. I added some black beans to the salsa because I had some on hand. The recipe is still 5 stars without them. We love eating fresh, healthy and flavorful foods, and this meal goes into our list of favorites. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristinPotPie
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! We used a mixture of chicken thighs and breasts because we have some dark meat lovers in our house. I grilled the chicken on the BBQ instead of frying it in the pan, but used the olive oil lightly brushed on the chicken before rubbing it with the seasonings. I could not find the ground red pepper at my grocery store so I just used red pepper flakes and tried to crush them up as best I could. It was a bit spicy but we love spicy so all was good! I adore avocados so I doubled the avocado in the salsa, and only used a couple of tablespoons of cilantro since I am very sensitive to its strong flavor. Love this dish - the spicy chicken contrasting with the cool and creamy avocados! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinPotPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Can I give this seven stars? We truly loved this recipe! I have to admit I was a little unsure if we would like this since the chicken had so few seasonings, but, it was very flavorful. I pounded the chicken out to about 3/4" of an inch for even cooking and cooked on medium for about 12 minutes total. The salsa was the perfect accompaniment. Don't be hesitant of using the cucumber in the salsa, it really works well with the other flavors. I served this with cilantro lime rice and black beans. Fresh and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Yum, yum! I love cumin, so the chicken was good, though it would work better to pound the pieces to an even thickness. But, let me tell you about that salsa! It was delicious! I wondered about using cucumbers, I'd never thought about mixing them with avocado. Something about the crunch, added to the creamy avocado, with a bit of lime juice and salt--this was not just a salsa. It was a side! I could easily do this as a salad on lettuce for lunch, even without the chicken. This will be even better a bit later in the season, when cucumbers are sweeter and tomatoes are at their peak! Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Mmmm good! I made 1 1/2 times the avocado salsa and use tenderloins instead of chicken breast since that's what I had in the fridge. We had this for diner with cilantro rice mixed with black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States