Cumin Lamb Steaks with Smashed Potatoes, Wilted Spinach and Red Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This.is.amazing. Wow! I made the lamb steaks and sauce as directed (definitely make extra sauce!!!), but used a roasted vegetable recipe I found on here with yams, asparagus, and red peppers. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delightful recipe as written - and worthy of 4.5 stars; I wanted stronger flavors & tweaked it after the first time. Specifically, I used Penzey's Mignonette pepper with its coriander to enhance the cumin and their shallot salt to add some subtle depth. Used *a lot* of cumin seed. Had never had it fried / toasted before. NICE - thanks, Emma! I found the sauce rather bland and far too sweet: after the first try, I used very dry Burgundy and half the sugar. Where I am firmly of the opinion "too much" and "garlic" are terms which cannot exist in the same sentence, I raised the amount to 2 Tbsp of freshly minced ... ambrosia. Then added 1/4 tsp of salt as per others' suggestions, 1/2 tsp yellow mustard & pinch of half-sharp paprika (Penzey's again). I have the sauce ready when the meat is done & use it to de-glaze the pan. I found 1/2 Tbsp of EVOO works quite well to prevent burning over medium (-) heat yet little remains to transfer to the sauce. With or without tweaks, this is a marvelous recipe and one I've enjoyed several times since I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I followed the directions exactly and every thing turned out perfectly. My kids were not a fan, but then they are kids! LOL! All the flavors used complemented each other beautifully. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
this was a terrific meal that we made quickly Sunday night for a family mean and now intend to make on Saturday when we have friends over. The steaks needed a bit more time. The sauce was WONDERFUL. The cumin added a terrific flavour and I can see we'll make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Absolutely Delicious! I made this lamb recipe for Easter and was bragging about it in church today! He has risen! Normally, I am conservative with cumin, but it really went well with the lamb! Cumin seeds have a different flavor than cumin powder. Don’t be afraid to use them. The red wine sauce was also delicious on both the meat and the potatoes. I didn’t strain the sauce because garlic is so healthy for the skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailarconmigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
have made this several times for people who never had lamb and everyone loved it.i add mushrooms to the wine sauce and shredded cheese to the taters.the spinich is just as good as a salad as it is wilted but i usually do both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This method of making lamb went over really well at my house; the wine sauce was even palatable to the kids. Yay! I've been hesitant to buy lamb in the past, but there's some nice grass-fed at Trader Joe's lately, and this recipe really compliments it. I omitted potatoes, and used ground cumin as others have done. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmbrknits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My husband was practically licking the plate (for his sake I'll say "practically"). It's simple and quick, and I'm planning on making it for company, as the presentation is beautiful. I added a little arugula and baby red leaf mixture at the end of cooking the spinach to make it even more colorful. I'd recommend making about twice of the delicious sauce, as we loved it so much we would have liked even more of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I give this a three as is, but a four or five now that I've made some changes. The wine reduction is great, just needs some salt. I prefer mashed potatoes made without sour cream, just butter and milk. I use salt, ground rosemary, garlic powder, pepper, and dried thyme as a rub for lamb and think it tastes a lot better than the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
It was okay, but just not great. I had really high hopes after reading the reviews, but I was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Braised Lamb Shanks

Watch Chef John make succulent, fragrant, slightly spicy lamb shanks.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States