Cumin and Coriander Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Looking for something new to bring to our weekly family lunches, I stumbled upon this interesting looking recipe. All I can say is that it was easy to make (although a bit time consuming), and a huge hit!!! Everyone FLIPPED for the bean salad and it flew off the table. Now this item is a must have. Its light and great for the summer. To make the salad more colorful, I used all different kinds of beans instead of just garbanzos. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Recipe was great, but even better when mixed with PJ's Fresh Corn Salad. The crunch of the corn and peppers along with the garbanzo beans was a very nice blending of flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This was surprisingly bland, I'm sorry to say. With the interesting ingredients, I expected it to be very flavorful, but I could really only taste the garlic. To be fair, I only marinated it for 1.5 hours, but I've had other chickpea dishes that marinated for less time and were more flavorful. Maybe with more time, this dish would be better, but I don't plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Awesome salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: University Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was just amazing. I adapted it as follows: (1) Halved the recipe; (2) Did not use onion; (3) Added an extra splash of lemon juice and vinegar (and used cider vinegar; didn't have white-wine); (4) 1/4 heaping teaspoon of ground ginger (didn't have fresh), a little extra cumin, and only a pinch of cayenne; (5) substituted one can of chickpeas for a can of rinsed black beans - was low on chickpeas; and finally (6) added some sliced meaty green olives, marinated in olive oil only, from an Armenian store. Really fabulous salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I really liked this - left out the bell pepper and added a bunch of diced fresh tomatoes instead. Next time I will also add some feta cheese. Also used fresh basil instead of cilantro. Loved the fresh taste the ginger creates :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This recipe is very similar to what my friend from India makes. She doesn't use a recipe and just throws things in a bowl so it is hard for me to get recipes from her. I did use both red and yellow peppers (for added color) and halved the recipe but other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". My friend also makes this same recipe using canned corn in place of the chickpeas. She always has something interesting and new and I always look forward to eating at her house! Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Doubled cumin and substituted parsley for cilantro. I get lots of requests for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe is terrific. I didn't have all the ingredients, so I improvised with balsamic vinegar, ground cumin, fresh coriander, diced spanish onion and green pepper and hot sauce. It was delicious. My boyfriend loved it, even though he hates all the ingredients individually...I just didn't tell me what was in the salad! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Tasty as a wrap in an iceberg lettuce leaf. Cucumber added crunch and roasted red pepper added color. Red wine vinegar in the dressing gave a nice flavor and also added a hint of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States