Cucumbers with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Very good; similar to adding sour cream to the cucumbers and vinegar which is my traditional way of fixing cucumber salad. By making the sauce from heavy cream separately it surely is versatile and would be good on a lot of things. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Love it, made it for a company function and there wasn't any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Wow. The heavy cream and vinegar makes sour cream. It was not a typo. To counter-act the water content, cut up cukes, salt and vinegar them, cover and refrigerate for about 1/2 hour then drain. I do add a little onions, though! This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Love this....make it all the time. I simply use sour cream with vinegar, add sliced vadalia onions and a dash of Hye's Seasoned Salt. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
We use to call this recipe Dutch Cucumbers. We used Salad Dressing a cap or two of White Vinegar a squeeze of lemon. Let it set a few hours before serving. Yummy!! I rate this a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Love this recipe My mom use to make these all the time but she used sour cream and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hundred, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Simple but very comforting easy to make will not take too much of time preparing Im loving it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
i've been making this for 50 years, but, i also use sugar (about equal amounts of vinegar and sugar).i also prefer to use the small english cucumbers. my 4 sons LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Heavy cream, I don't think so.....sour cream, yeas. Cucumbers exude a lot of water, hence the heavy cream, being liquid, does not work well. I have tried all the tricks in the book to not have too much liquid at the bottom of the bowl - to no avail - mayo works the best and no fuss, but the sour cream is delicious with added scallions, salt, pepper, chives and or dill - regardless, cucumbers are bottom line delicious in any form....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I remember my mother making this as a side dish but, she would slice onions and separate into rings fold the cucumbers, onions and sour cream or she might have concocted something similar with condensed milk, quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States