Cucumbers with Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
For those who are changing the recipe to what they think the submitter intended, the "sour cream" comes from the combination of vinegar (sour) and heavy cream (cream). Cream can be soured with all sorts of things, including vinegar. The person who posted this uses the words "cream" or "heavy cream" 4 times, it's unlikely to be a typo. Give it a shot as written (it's pretty good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I'd been looking for a recipe like my grandmother's, and this is VERY close. She would slice the cucumber into thin rounds and press them overnight to remove the moisture. She also added sliced onions and let the entire mixture sit for several hours to allow the flavours to combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love the simplicity of this dish. I didn't realize you could make such delicious sour cream that way!!! Whenever I'm out and I need a substitute, I now have a recipe!!! Love the combination of flavors. I would think this would be great over salmon, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Great simple side dish! I was actually trying to find MY grandmother's recipe, and this was it! Altho, I have to say I add some onion. It IS especially good over the mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
My grandmother and mother made a recipe almost like this for years and I continue to make it. The only difference is we add sugar (approx. 1 teas. for every couple of tablespoons of vinegar). I slice the cucumbers very thin using my mandoline slicer and then add the sour cream, vinegar, sugar, s&p, and mix it all together. The addition of dill sounds great! I'll have to try it next time I make this. My husband loves this served over mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Heavy cream, I don't think so.....sour cream, yeas. Cucumbers exude a lot of water, hence the heavy cream, being liquid, does not work well. I have tried all the tricks in the book to not have too much liquid at the bottom of the bowl - to no avail - mayo works the best and no fuss, but the sour cream is delicious with added scallions, salt, pepper, chives and or dill - regardless, cucumbers are bottom line delicious in any form....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is really delicious with almost any sandwich, burgers, brats, etc. I used sour cream, as I assume was intended. I mixed the cucumber slices with close to a teaspoon of salt and let them drain for about an hour before adding the other ingredients. I also used white wine vinegar and about 1/2 teaspoon dried dill. Be sure to chill well. Almost addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I had to add a little bit of sugar in order to eat even one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Love this recipe My mom use to make these all the time but she used sour cream and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hundred, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
i've been making this for 50 years, but, i also use sugar (about equal amounts of vinegar and sugar).i also prefer to use the small english cucumbers. my 4 sons LOVE this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nobleton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States