Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very, very good! II made this without any changes, using a scant 1/3 cup of sugar, and adding a few thin sliced onions. I have a feeling this will be a staple around here this summer. Would be great to take to potlucks! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Wonderful! I've eaten cucumber salad over the years, several different family members make it, but I've never actually made it myself. So when I found really fresh, great looking cucumbers at a REALLY low price at the farmers market, I knew what I wanted to make. Only one problem...all those years of eating cucumber salad and I never bothered to ask anyone for a recipe! Allrecipes saves the day again! This is a great base recipe to get the vinegar/sugar ratio correct, then it's easily customizable. I added dill, lemon pepper, celery salt and onion powder(not a fan of raw onions). I also used fat-free sour cream, going to try plain Greek yogurt next time. Even after salting(to get the water out) 4 VERY large cucumbers, the sauce was a little thin(although the sauce still clung to the slices). Next time I'll have to serve it with a slotted spoon, but I think my family might disagree with me on that, as they used their dinner rolls to mop up the sauce that pooled on their plates...yes, the sauce is that good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Love the sour from the vinegar and sweet from a pinch of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SauceChickinLakeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wonderful recipe. With the exception of adding onions, I followed the ingredients exactly. I did not soak the cukes overnight and I don't really think that part is necessary. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I add dill weed for flavoring. I also use a lot of salt to draw out the moisture from the cucumbers. Just layer the cukes with salt and draw out the water. Then rinse it well to get as much salt off as possible. I've made this both with the sour cream and without. Both are good. I also slice in an onion. Recently I had some summer squash that I didn't know how to use. I prepped it just like the cukes and got a nice side dish. The recipe as presented is really a good basic one. Take it to the next level with your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Love this recipe!! I've always used mayonnaise for my creamed cucumbers but this is REALLY good!! Definitely a j Keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I grew up on. My Hungarian Mother made it weekly, though she added a little paprika for garnish and flavor. I also add just a bit of garlic. Less sugar, closer to a 1/4 cup. It's a favorite and a unique side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is the same way I make mine but with less sugar. I like the "slightly" sweet and sourness 1/3 cup is way to much. I also like my cucumbers peeled and salted than rinsed with water, drained and with sliced onions added. This was always the way my mom did it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was good. Cut down on the sour cream and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woodfairie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States