Cucumbers in Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Ding-Ding-Ding We have a winner! The cucumbers came out sooo crispy and the sweet tart dressing was just perfect. If you are a dill lover, this would be good to add as well. Now we know what to do with that bumper crop of cukes. Additional note: Serve Immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Delicious cucumber salad! I put a little salt in with the water so I didn't have to let this sit overnight. It works with or without dill (did half and half). The dressing is very good, the perfect mixture of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TARAWVU
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I forgot to add that it works best if you peel the cucumber beforehand. Thanks for the great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAWVU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I love this salad! I use light sour cream and add finely chopped vidalia onion. I serve it as a topping for cubed boiled potatoes or just as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I have been making this for years, except I add sliced sweet onions and only use english cukes (burpless). I have never soaked the cukes first. I just add the cukes and onion to the dressing and refridgerate until the flavors blend. (at least 3-4 hours). If you want to take this recipe one step farther, add cooked rotini pasta before refrigeration. The grandkids Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This recipe has been in our family for over 40 yrs. But my goodness, whats with all of the sugar. This is not dessert. Less is more ! Also WAY TOO much sour cream , a goodly dollop will do. Also I always add garlic powder to give it the best flavor. Otherwise it is a great recipe. (from my precious Hungarian mother in law).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I will have to agree with the previous review. Too sweet and too much sour cream. I will try it again cutting back the sugar in half as well as the sour cream and vinegar. I did add thinly sliced onion and garlic powder for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Ilike this recipe but I would prefer to have green onion and creamy cottage cheese mixed in with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I did not soak the cucumbers but just cut them and put them right in the sour cream mixture. Still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WREDWRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great summer side salad, I used English cucumbers and added chopped vidalia onions. It was a hit! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States