Cucumbers in Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
OMG! This was so good. Just like our old family's recipe that I lost. Many of the recipes call for sour cream but I like heavy cream & apple cider vinegar. Made this just as listed except the parsley. I added about 1/8 t. ground black pepper the way I remembered it. For the best flavor, let it sit in the fridge over night before serving. It will keep for 2 or 3 days after that if it lasts that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for to use my fresh cucumbers, tastes just like my mom used to make thanks so much, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used sour cream and a little mayo instead of heavy cream, added some white pepper and some extra radishes from the garden... yum! There is enough dressing that I could have easily added a couple more cucumbers, will keep that in mind for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Super yummy n sweet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
YUM! I was craving this. My Aunt makes this, but I couldn't get the recipe from her.... SO I did a search for the ingredients I knew and this was what I found!!! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATASHAW1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I make a cucumber salad similar to this but, try this its awesome passed down from grandma to mom and now the daughters. 1cup Pet evaporated milk, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup vinegar. that's it and it's delicious. if your using less cucumber & onion then just make it equal parts of the evaporated milk & sugar, & 1/2 of whatever amount you used for those, of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Delicious!!! My new favorite cucumber recipe. Thank you for sharing! I didn't add the parsley, but made everything else exactly as written and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Excellent...I loved them! I even cut the sugar in half and it was still great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
cucumbers hold a lot of water so i salted them first and placed them in a strainer for a while to drip. I did not add the water. I also used sour cream in place of heavy cream omitted the parsley and threw in some crumbled feta. Put it in the fridge and by the next day the cucumbers released enough water to make up for not adding any. it was good and simple to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made this lastnight but I like more od a vinegar tasteds so I skipped soaking in salt water and just sliced the cucumbers and onion and tossed them in a bit of vinegar added heavy cream and some pepper to taste and I did not add sugar cause it does not seen to go well with vinegar thats likee a oxymoron or dbbl negitave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Rayne

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States