Cucumber Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
fabulous recipe just as written... this is the reciope I remember from childhood!!! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
It is a refreshing dish, I just felt like it was too bland. Not sure what type of seasonings to put in it to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Just had this for dinner, and it was outstanding. My Mom made it all the time when I was growing up, but unfortunately did not use a recipe. She just added ingredients to match the size of the bowl and the number of cucumbers and tomatoes she had picked that day. I have tried for years to make mine taste just like hers, but never succeeded until now. This is it!! Thank you Jan; This tastes like pure summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I really like this salad, too. It is a classic, old-fashioned salad. It is crisp and refreshing, and the lightly sweetened dressing accents the vegetables nicely. Perfect picnic salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Yummy! Quick, easy, and healthy side dish to go with anything! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I like this as a simple summer salad. My variation is that I used chunks of red onion rather than green onions. I also just use the following seasoning: extra virgin olive oil, red wine vinegar (balsalmic works too), salt & pepper. You can also throw in spices or herbs to taste if you want. It's a versatile, easy & cheap recipe. Great for BBQs just let sit in fridge for at least an hour or two before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is delicious and refreshing. I saw some reviews of this recipe and had a half a hothouse cucumber to use up so decided to give it a try. I also have wonderful Vidalia onions so I sliced one thin for this salad instead of the green onions. I think this would be equally delicious with either fresh basil, cilantro or dill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
My girls and I liked it. Hubby and son...wouldn't eat it..but I knew that going into this recipe. So it was more for the girls ;-) It had a tang to it. It was nice. Used cherry tomatoes in it's place because that's what I had on hand, when trying to use up some cucumbers. TY will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
instead of Balsamic vinegar I used red wine vinegar to cut down on the tart. it was delicious. I will be making this as a side dish often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have now made this twice and it comes out perfect every time. The result is a fresh, summer tasting salad that will be the hit of the meal..I have cut down on the sugar to 1 teaspoon, use balsamic vinegar instead of cider vinegar (sweeter, so you can cut down on the sugar ahd have used thin sliced maui onions (grown at our local farmers market) instead of the green onions. My Vegan friends gobble this up like there is no tomorrow. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States