Cucumber Tomato Salad with Zucchini and Black Olives in Lemon Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm happy to be the first reviewer of this seriously good salad and hopefully get the recipe off to a flying start! I found as I was going to describe this, as "light and fresh," that the submitter had already described it perfectly himself. This was exactly what I had in mind when I was searching for a tomato-cucumber salad this morning and I found this one particularly appealing in that it called for three different acids - the balsamic vinegar, the lighter red wine vinegar and lemon juice. Loved it, especially with the lemon juice and zest, as I don't generally like the heavy, sweet taste of balsamic vinegar. Classic, Mediterranean ingredients and flavors, easily mixed in proportions to suit your own tastes - in my case that would mean a little more olive oil and no sugar. I seeded the tomatoes before chopping so as not to have their excess liquid in the salad. The salad, now hours after I put it together, is already even better since the flavors have had a chance to marry. Since fresh basil has a tendency to turn black, I will add that just before serving. Any leftovers (if there are any!) I plan to mix with some ceci beans (garbanzo beans) for a healthy, light lunch. Beautiful salad, full of flavor and pleasantly so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad as a use for garden veggies! The dressing was nice and flavorful but not too radical - I did think it was a bit much, so i cut it in half. The second day I added tortellini to the leftovers - they were gone before I got any. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, but as others reviewed to much dressing, I cut it in half and it was perfect. The leftovers are perfect to throw on cut lettuce and top with feta cheese for a salad for the next day yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent! So fresh and tasty .....I had no fresh basil or thyme so I had to use dried ......definately fresh next time especially for the basil.....I love fresh basil. My only other mini change was to decrease the olive oil to 3tblspns instead of 1/2c. I made this in the morning and served with dinner.....nice combo of flavors that got better with time. I loved the fresh lemon zest and juice in the dressing as well. Nice salad ...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This Salad was absolutely Scrumptious! I made this for Easter dinner and everyone just loved it! It was a nice compliment to the Rack of lamb. The only thing I would say is to use less onions and dressing. Other than that this was soo delish! I will definitely make again! ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was awesome. I skipped the zucchini because I just harvested a ton of tomatoes and cucumbers from my garden. My husband took a second helping right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DZAHRA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Hi Folks, This is my recipe and i should have mentioned it was not my intention to pour all the dressing on the salad. Only what YOU like. Start lite and add it's the #1 rule of cooking. You can add but you can't take it out. :) Sorry for the confusion. I could not figure out how to edit my recipe once it was posted. Thank you all for the great reviews I'm thrilled you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DZAHRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lower Lake, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made this last night to go along with some shrimp scampi. This is a wonderful light salad for a hot summer night. I pretty much followed the recipe ingredients except I didn't put in zucchini, and used the whole can of black olives and whole red onion. Since I had all the herbs growing in my garden used fresh herbs and the dressing I did use a little less of the oil. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made as written it was wonderful!! My family sz this is a keeper! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fabulous recipes - I used lemon olive oil in place of the lemon juice and zest; having noted the previous reviewers remarking that there was too much dressing, I used extra veggies - I topped with marinated mozzarella balls. I marinated overnight in the dressing adding the cheese before serving. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States