Cucumber Tomato Salad with Zucchini and Black Olives in Lemon Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm happy to be the first reviewer of this seriously good salad and hopefully get the recipe off to a flying start! I found as I was going to describe this, as "light and fresh," that the submitter had already described it perfectly himself. This was exactly what I had in mind when I was searching for a tomato-cucumber salad this morning and I found this one particularly appealing in that it called for three different acids - the balsamic vinegar, the lighter red wine vinegar and lemon juice. Loved it, especially with the lemon juice and zest, as I don't generally like the heavy, sweet taste of balsamic vinegar. Classic, Mediterranean ingredients and flavors, easily mixed in proportions to suit your own tastes - in my case that would mean a little more olive oil and no sugar. I seeded the tomatoes before chopping so as not to have their excess liquid in the salad. The salad, now hours after I put it together, is already even better since the flavors have had a chance to marry. Since fresh basil has a tendency to turn black, I will add that just before serving. Any leftovers (if there are any!) I plan to mix with some ceci beans (garbanzo beans) for a healthy, light lunch. Beautiful salad, full of flavor and pleasantly so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was awesome. I skipped the zucchini because I just harvested a ton of tomatoes and cucumbers from my garden. My husband took a second helping right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
The salad tasted good but it had way too much dressing for our taste... Next time I will only use 1/2 the dressing to see how it tastes first. FYI, we are one of those people who only use 1/2 of the dressing if we eat out at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this salad as a use for garden veggies! The dressing was nice and flavorful but not too radical - I did think it was a bit much, so i cut it in half. The second day I added tortellini to the leftovers - they were gone before I got any. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
We, unfortunately, did not really care for this salad. The dressing was a little overpowering for us and definitely too much of it. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe. I even added thin sliced goose neck squash and juliene sliced bell peppers, thin slices of red onions also. I took this dish to a recent family reunion and there were no left overs. We had more than a 100 guests at the reunion. I would give this recipe 10 stars if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Brinson and I really enjoyed it! Too much onion and be gentle with the dressing. Also, added a touch more sugar because the dressing was a little too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catskill, New York, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, but as others reviewed to much dressing, I cut it in half and it was perfect. The leftovers are perfect to throw on cut lettuce and top with feta cheese for a salad for the next day yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I made as written it was wonderful!! My family sz this is a keeper! Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Fabulous recipes - I used lemon olive oil in place of the lemon juice and zest; having noted the previous reviewers remarking that there was too much dressing, I used extra veggies - I topped with marinated mozzarella balls. I marinated overnight in the dressing adding the cheese before serving. A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States