Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
First of all, this salad is called "SUNOMONO", not "Sunomo". It's Japanese. I give this recipe 4 stars because it's quite good but I made a few additions that made it 5 stars. I added some thin carrot shavings made with my vegetable peeler. The carrot tastes good with this dressing and adds a really nice touch of colour. I also added several drops of toasted sesame oil and a tiny bit of cracked pepper. Just before serving I added toasted sesame seeds. Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great recipe. Thank you. Some people are so rude! It's called this not that. I added this this and that etc... If people are going to add so much to a recipe, then you are not following the recipe, so how can you rate it one way or another? If you insist on changing so much on a recipe, write your own and don't say you followed somone's recipe (but made your own additions) and then leave them 4 stars after you completely changed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was tasty and refreshing. It went great with our main dish, "Japanese Beef Stir Fry," recipe also from this site, and would also be wonderful with sushi. I had something similar at an excellent sushi restaurant in Minneapolis and this was almost a carbon copy. A little sweet (I used Splenda), a little gingery, but that's the way it's supposed to be. A definite "make again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious and light. I use Mizkan rice vinegar, there are two versions - seasoned and unseasoned. If you use the seasoned variety like I did here, you do not need to add salt or sugar. I simply sliced the cucumber, added the vinegar and grated the ginger and that was it for a fab salad! As a tip, freeze your ginger and take it out of the freezer to grate as necessary (no need to wait to thaw out, just grate and pop the rest back in the freezer). Ginger grated like this will be finer than you can chop with a knife and give a lighter background finish to your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Excellent summer salad. Refreshing and light. I omitted the ginger and added some shredded carrot and nori (seaweed). The perfect side dish for our sushi roll dinner. Even my toddler liked the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is a standby for a light, palate-cleansing, cooling side to many of the spicy dishes we enjoy at my house. It's not a stand-alone salad though. I sometimes substitute dry ginger (about 3/4 tsp) for the fresh, if I don't have any. I always use Splenda instead of sugar for lower calories and carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This reminds me of a similar cucumber dish my Mom makes - this one's is just a bit sweeter. My mom also includes thinly sliced red onion in her's - it adds a nice little variety in texture. A deliciously light side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
Very good! The only part that takes some time is the cutting of the cucumbers. I omitted the ginger because I did not have any at home, but it still was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
it was so-so. Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Wonderful! A light, refreshing dish for either an appetizer or side salad. I sprinkled a few sesame seeds on top and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States