Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Delicious and light. I use Mizkan rice vinegar, there are two versions - seasoned and unseasoned. If you use the seasoned variety like I did here, you do not need to add salt or sugar. I simply sliced the cucumber, added the vinegar and grated the ginger and that was it for a fab salad! As a tip, freeze your ginger and take it out of the freezer to grate as necessary (no need to wait to thaw out, just grate and pop the rest back in the freezer). Ginger grated like this will be finer than you can chop with a knife and give a lighter background finish to your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Wow, this is simple but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Loved it and very simple to make. I cut way back on the salt, using perhaps a 1/4 - 1/3 tsp and it was fine. I also added approx. 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes which gave a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very tasty cucumbers just as I remember while growing up. I used a mandolin to slice the two Japanese cucumbers paper thin. I used Splenda in place of white sugar and followed the rest of the ingredients and meaurements as instructed. I love the vinegar "tang", sweetness with gingery taste in each bite. You can always adjust the amount of sweetness and tartness to your liking but the vinegar, sugar and ginger is key and what makes this dish. I especially like this super cold on a hot day-very refreshing! I served this along with, Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans, ""Japanese Shrimp Sauce I,""Japanese Style Deep Fried Shrimp," and "Miso Soup," all from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great summer side dish. Really easy. And my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Very good. Very simple. I'll make it often. It goes with just about everything from breakfast and on. Nice to have in the fridge. Used a mandolin for very thin slices and a seedless, hot house or English cucumber which has no (or very little ) seeds...so no need to remove them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Fabulous. Hubby is a convert after being reluctant to try. So easy and refreshing. I did have to substitute wine vinegar once and its just as good. For a twist, try adding a few thinly sliced onions to the mix instead of the ginger. We live near Vidalia, so sweet onions are frequently in our pantry. They make an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Just like in the best sushi places! Just need to prepare in a covered bowl and shake very well then store in the fridge (covered) for at least two hours. Serve with soy sauce reduced with water and a little bit of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
turned out great... my wife has a new fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Fantastic! Didn't add the ginger. Added a splash of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States