Cucumber Sunomono Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is a great recipe. I went light on the Ginger but that is a personal preference. It went great with the Indonesian Satay Recipe from this site. BTW I didn't bother cleaning out the seeds, I just peeled all but 3 narrow strips of skin from the cucumber, sliced it thin, and it was excellent AND pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
There is way too much salt. There is insufficient vinegar to adequately marinate the quantity of cucumbers. The ginger is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I prefer my cucumbers a bit more sour than the recipe makes, so I use more rice vinegar than printed. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this exactly as written, and I really like it. I have been looking for a low calorie snack and was getting tired of plain cucumbers. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaylemichel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Love the fresh ginger in this recipe-really sets it apart from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Delicious and simple! I may try some of the other suggestions at some other time, but for now I'm content to leave it the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Simple recipe and delicious cool salad. Next time I will add some finely shredded carrot, finely shredded or zested ginger and black sesame seeds. It will add a little pizaz to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I brought this to a potluck and an Asian friend said it reminded her of the food of her youth. Several people asked me for the recipe. My twist on it is adding 1 T sesame oil and a dash of red pepper flakes. That will up it to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
If it were not for a mandolin, I'm not sure I would have tried this recipe. I use English cucumbers and leave the skins on, plus have added about 1/2 tsp dark sesame oil when I've made it. The fresh ginger makes this recipe. I brought this in to work for a potluck, and it received rave reviews. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States