Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I think it's excellent. I made many quarts with all of the cucumbers from the garden. I froze a lot of it, and it thawed nicely. We had it often throughout the winter. I just had to whisk it a litle to mix the sour cream back in. A nice, refreshingly different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is a very nice recipe--great for a hot summer night's dinner party. I opted for the use of dill instead of tarragon; it seemed to go better with cucumbers. Regarding the use of farina: although the recipe says to add the farina right after the broth, I was afraid the farina would get lumpy being poured into liquid that was not hot. I waited for the broth to boil, and then I added the farina, whisking rapidly to make sure no lumps formed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent! Definitely love it with the dill. I skipped the butter part, and just used fat free cooking spray, which brought my weight watchers numbers down to 1 point using fat free sour cream-delicious! I also added a few dashes of Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is different from the one that I make but it was good. I like to try different variations of cucumber soup. With this soup I ommited the chicken broth, and replaced it with vegetable broth the vinegar I used is tarragon vinegar, and I added dill weed since I like a lot of dill with my cukes I added a lot. I also used half and half with this recipe instead of sour cream it seems to make it rich flavor. Since I like a heartier soup I added more farina(cream of wheat) to the soup then I pureed it. Mix everything up and let it sit overnite and before serving I puree it again and serve. This way it allows the flavors to blend. I think the next time that I make this soup I will try adding a little white wine. This soup is one of my staples during the summer. I pair this up with a cold vegetarian sandwhich, and a tall glass of of Ice tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe for all those garden cucumbers you can never seem to keep up with. I made a big batch (minus the sour cream) and put in freezer containers (adding sour cream later). We ate soup throughout the winter! Great in bread bowls, with a large salad, or simple chicken or ham dinners. My husband loves this recipe! I will try it with dill this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was quick and easy. I used 1/2 cup potato soup instead of farina and pureed the soup for about 2 minutes. The final texture was almost like a broth which made it light and great for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was a very good light soup. I used dill like someone else suggested, next time I will try the tarragon just to see what it is like. I really liked it. By the way, for anyone weight watchering it is only 3 points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this. I had however never heard of cucumber soup before; I had a lot of dill, so that is what I used instead of parsley and it was a nice compliment. I made it the night before when the weather was ok for dinner when it was going to be scorching hot and I'm glad I did! Served with recipes for stuffed pattypan and marinated mushrooms from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is a very different recipe. I liked it, but my mom did not. I did not seed the cucumbers. I just peeled and diced. I didn't have farina, so I added half of a potato. It tasted fine. Great for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Made two double batches, two different ways: 1st time - mostly followed recipe, but replaced about 1/4 of the sour cream with plain yogurt (seemed to be a common ingredient in other recipes, so I thought it must be a good combo w/cucumbers), and I did not like the smell of the tarragon, so I cut that in half, plus I added lots of dried dill weed (also seen in other recipes). Doing this, I liked the soup okay; it sort of had to grow on me. I thought it may have not been all that great due to my changes to the original recipe. 2nd time - I used a couple more cucumbers (just to increase amount of soup), halved the tarragon, added fresh parsley and dried dill, and did the same yogurt substitution. I also used olive oil instead of margarine to lighten up the flavor. After I had the soup pureed, I realized I had forgotten the vinegar. I LOVED this second version that I made. The vinegar was what was making it off for me. It was awesome hot, room temp, or cold. Great basic recipe. Froze most of what I made and plan to make three or four more double batches to freeze for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States