Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I think it's excellent. I made many quarts with all of the cucumbers from the garden. I froze a lot of it, and it thawed nicely. We had it often throughout the winter. I just had to whisk it a litle to mix the sour cream back in. A nice, refreshingly different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is a very nice recipe--great for a hot summer night's dinner party. I opted for the use of dill instead of tarragon; it seemed to go better with cucumbers. Regarding the use of farina: although the recipe says to add the farina right after the broth, I was afraid the farina would get lumpy being poured into liquid that was not hot. I waited for the broth to boil, and then I added the farina, whisking rapidly to make sure no lumps formed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent! Definitely love it with the dill. I skipped the butter part, and just used fat free cooking spray, which brought my weight watchers numbers down to 1 point using fat free sour cream-delicious! I also added a few dashes of Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is different from the one that I make but it was good. I like to try different variations of cucumber soup. With this soup I ommited the chicken broth, and replaced it with vegetable broth the vinegar I used is tarragon vinegar, and I added dill weed since I like a lot of dill with my cukes I added a lot. I also used half and half with this recipe instead of sour cream it seems to make it rich flavor. Since I like a heartier soup I added more farina(cream of wheat) to the soup then I pureed it. Mix everything up and let it sit overnite and before serving I puree it again and serve. This way it allows the flavors to blend. I think the next time that I make this soup I will try adding a little white wine. This soup is one of my staples during the summer. I pair this up with a cold vegetarian sandwhich, and a tall glass of of Ice tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe for all those garden cucumbers you can never seem to keep up with. I made a big batch (minus the sour cream) and put in freezer containers (adding sour cream later). We ate soup throughout the winter! Great in bread bowls, with a large salad, or simple chicken or ham dinners. My husband loves this recipe! I will try it with dill this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was quick and easy. I used 1/2 cup potato soup instead of farina and pureed the soup for about 2 minutes. The final texture was almost like a broth which made it light and great for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was a very good light soup. I used dill like someone else suggested, next time I will try the tarragon just to see what it is like. I really liked it. By the way, for anyone weight watchering it is only 3 points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this. I had however never heard of cucumber soup before; I had a lot of dill, so that is what I used instead of parsley and it was a nice compliment. I made it the night before when the weather was ok for dinner when it was going to be scorching hot and I'm glad I did! Served with recipes for stuffed pattypan and marinated mushrooms from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is a very different recipe. I liked it, but my mom did not. I did not seed the cucumbers. I just peeled and diced. I didn't have farina, so I added half of a potato. It tasted fine. Great for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Made two double batches, two different ways: 1st time - mostly followed recipe, but replaced about 1/4 of the sour cream with plain yogurt (seemed to be a common ingredient in other recipes, so I thought it must be a good combo w/cucumbers), and I did not like the smell of the tarragon, so I cut that in half, plus I added lots of dried dill weed (also seen in other recipes). Doing this, I liked the soup okay; it sort of had to grow on me. I thought it may have not been all that great due to my changes to the original recipe. 2nd time - I used a couple more cucumbers (just to increase amount of soup), halved the tarragon, added fresh parsley and dried dill, and did the same yogurt substitution. I also used olive oil instead of margarine to lighten up the flavor. After I had the soup pureed, I realized I had forgotten the vinegar. I LOVED this second version that I made. The vinegar was what was making it off for me. It was awesome hot, room temp, or cold. Great basic recipe. Froze most of what I made and plan to make three or four more double batches to freeze for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States