Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
I think it's excellent. I made many quarts with all of the cucumbers from the garden. I froze a lot of it, and it thawed nicely. We had it often throughout the winter. I just had to whisk it a litle to mix the sour cream back in. A nice, refreshingly different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
This soup is wonderful. I made it two times already. It is so quick and easy! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This is a very nice recipe--great for a hot summer night's dinner party. I opted for the use of dill instead of tarragon; it seemed to go better with cucumbers. Regarding the use of farina: although the recipe says to add the farina right after the broth, I was afraid the farina would get lumpy being poured into liquid that was not hot. I waited for the broth to boil, and then I added the farina, whisking rapidly to make sure no lumps formed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This was a very good light soup. I used dill like someone else suggested, next time I will try the tarragon just to see what it is like. I really liked it. By the way, for anyone weight watchering it is only 3 points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEYARNSIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I put the cucumbers in the food processer initally, and skipped the later step of mixing the ingredients in the blender. For the onions, I warmed them in real butter and added both dill and tarragon for spices. Turned out ok as a light summertime soup, but it's not exactly a showstopper at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Delicious. I've never used tarragon before and after using it in this recipe I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This recipe was great it did not need editing like others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AkiraHyuga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent! Definitely love it with the dill. I skipped the butter part, and just used fat free cooking spray, which brought my weight watchers numbers down to 1 point using fat free sour cream-delicious! I also added a few dashes of Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is a very different recipe. I liked it, but my mom did not. I did not seed the cucumbers. I just peeled and diced. I didn't have farina, so I added half of a potato. It tasted fine. Great for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this. I had however never heard of cucumber soup before; I had a lot of dill, so that is what I used instead of parsley and it was a nice compliment. I made it the night before when the weather was ok for dinner when it was going to be scorching hot and I'm glad I did! Served with recipes for stuffed pattypan and marinated mushrooms from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States