Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very easy recipe, and the soup came out delicious. I did omit the cream of wheat (...forgot to pick some up :-/), and used a good handful of dill instead of taragon. Stored it in the fridge and served cold. Will definently be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Walking Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is a great recipe for all those garden cucumbers you can never seem to keep up with. I made a big batch (minus the sour cream) and put in freezer containers (adding sour cream later). We ate soup throughout the winter! Great in bread bowls, with a large salad, or simple chicken or ham dinners. My husband loves this recipe! I will try it with dill this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITTZEND1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
August 2008 Had lots of cucumber so what's best to do...make soup. Great recipe. Easy and delicious. I changed it into vegan by using Sour Supreme by Tofutti. Used our own cucumbers, green onions and spices. Quick from garden to bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was quick and easy. I used 1/2 cup potato soup instead of farina and pureed the soup for about 2 minutes. The final texture was almost like a broth which made it light and great for a summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Not bad at all! Better cold than warm, but then, I'm not a giant fan of chilled soups. I will, however, make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Yum! I made it vegetarian by substituting in vegetable boullion cubes and water and tofu sour cream. I also added sliced summer squash, celery, and fresh jalapeno pepper from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catinpas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This recipe is different from the one that I make but it was good. I like to try different variations of cucumber soup. With this soup I ommited the chicken broth, and replaced it with vegetable broth the vinegar I used is tarragon vinegar, and I added dill weed since I like a lot of dill with my cukes I added a lot. I also used half and half with this recipe instead of sour cream it seems to make it rich flavor. Since I like a heartier soup I added more farina(cream of wheat) to the soup then I pureed it. Mix everything up and let it sit overnite and before serving I puree it again and serve. This way it allows the flavors to blend. I think the next time that I make this soup I will try adding a little white wine. This soup is one of my staples during the summer. I pair this up with a cold vegetarian sandwhich, and a tall glass of of Ice tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this. I had however never heard of cucumber soup before; I had a lot of dill, so that is what I used instead of parsley and it was a nice compliment. I made it the night before when the weather was ok for dinner when it was going to be scorching hot and I'm glad I did! Served with recipes for stuffed pattypan and marinated mushrooms from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This is a very different recipe. I liked it, but my mom did not. I did not seed the cucumbers. I just peeled and diced. I didn't have farina, so I added half of a potato. It tasted fine. Great for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent! Definitely love it with the dill. I skipped the butter part, and just used fat free cooking spray, which brought my weight watchers numbers down to 1 point using fat free sour cream-delicious! I also added a few dashes of Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States