Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Made two double batches, two different ways: 1st time - mostly followed recipe, but replaced about 1/4 of the sour cream with plain yogurt (seemed to be a common ingredient in other recipes, so I thought it must be a good combo w/cucumbers), and I did not like the smell of the tarragon, so I cut that in half, plus I added lots of dried dill weed (also seen in other recipes). Doing this, I liked the soup okay; it sort of had to grow on me. I thought it may have not been all that great due to my changes to the original recipe. 2nd time - I used a couple more cucumbers (just to increase amount of soup), halved the tarragon, added fresh parsley and dried dill, and did the same yogurt substitution. I also used olive oil instead of margarine to lighten up the flavor. After I had the soup pureed, I realized I had forgotten the vinegar. I LOVED this second version that I made. The vinegar was what was making it off for me. It was awesome hot, room temp, or cold. Great basic recipe. Froze most of what I made and plan to make three or four more double batches to freeze for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very good! Nice change in warm summer months. I did not puree the cucumbers and onions as much as I should have and will change it in the future. Overall nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was a good soup to get rid of cucumbers. The comments, ingredients, and directions don't jibe, but they are all easily interchangeable ingredients anyway. I didn't have parsley, but I used dill and cilantro and it still came out well. Not a filling soup, and it was better cold than warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
First time I've ever rated a recipe. I thought this looked interesting and I needed some recipes for all the cumcumbers in my garden! This was the best dish I've ever gotten from this site! So Light and Refreshing. I did use Dill i/o Tarragon! We had it warm and then we had the leftovers cold! Both were awesome! I'm making it again today! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was apprehensive about the thought of soup from cucs, but this made me a believer! I did add 1 small zucchini and used 3 tablespoons of farina (Cream of Wheat) to create a bit thicker broth. I also used more tarragon.. 1 tablespoon. I garnished with sprinkled cheddar. Quick! Excellent! My new comfort food with only 5 carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medtype1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Surprisingly delicious! I omitted the tarragon and added 2T fresh dill prior to blending. This is a great use up for all those garden cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! The first time we followed the recipe almost exactly, but used basil instead of tarragon. It was really good but it kind of tasted like pickles. The second time was MUCH better - we used basil again, and we didn't have any red wine vinegar so we used 1/2 raspberry wine vinegar and 1/2 apple cider vinegar. Also we added about 1-2 cloves of minced garlic with the scallions (it was a double batch) and was also added about 1/2 tsp or so of black pepper. Also, we didn't peel the cucumbers so there were dark flecks in the finished product but I think that really just gave it a nicer appearance and we didn't have to garnish it. It's definitely something we'll be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We loved this soup so much that we made extra and froze it like last reviewer. I used a little chopped potato in place of the farina and next time, will use a little vermouth or dry white wine in place of the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I liked the soup warm, but it was even better cold the next day. It wasn't amazing, but I used tarragon and think if I had used fresh dill it would have been much better. Will try it again with dill sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
The adults all enjoyed this soup; the teenagers didn't like it much. I served it cold and used reduced fat sour cream. In the future, I will make this soup the day before I plan to serve it, because it is even better the next day, with richer flavor. I used about a 1/2 teaspoon of salt to season the soup and that was the right amount for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States