Cucumber Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
very tasty and i didn't find i needed any extra salt.. i cut the recipe in half and used potato flakes in place of the farina.. upped the dried tarragon to 1/4 tsp.. substituted yogurt for the sour cream and didn't add any parsley.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Delicioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My husband made this last night... but replaced the Farina with 1 Cup cooked Bulgar Wheat. He did not take much time in processing, but still tasted great and we both liked the little texture the Bulgar Wheat gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I halved the recipe, so I don't know if that threw off the ratios, or what, but I did not care for this at all - and I have had cucumber soup before and enjoy it. I feel like the vinegar is what ruined it for me, although I usually like red wine vinegar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justmelanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was just a really nice recipe. I think pairing it with a spicy dish would be a great match. I used chicken soup base to make the broth and finished it with freshly ground pepper. Forgot to use the sour cream but next time I'll try plain yoghurt in the end instead. Great summer recipe or one to offset spicier dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I thought I'd love this because I LOVE cucumber soups. But I must have done something wrong and I hope someone can tell me what my problem was. I meant to make the soup as written, but substitute the dill, which I love, for the tarragon, which I don't care for. I accidently bought Cream of Rice instead of Cream of Wheat, but I thought it would be OK. The soup was so thin it was weird to eat. (Might have been better if I had added chunks of cucumber). I tried adding more sour cream - it didn't help much. I don't know much about Farina and the Internet wasn't a great deal of help. My heart tells me this would be a keeper for a cumcumber soup nut like I am.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This is such a different flavor! I loved it, but only gave it 4 stars as my husband was not so sure about it. He kept eating it, for sure, but was not as blown away as I was. I am not a fan of cucumbers but had some I needed to use up. I make my own chicken broth and used it, so that added a lot of flavor. I will definitely make this again, probably just a smaller batch as this made quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I don't even know if it's fair to rate this recipe since I varied sooooo far from what is stated. BUT I decided to go ahead to show just what a great base it is! I made this, last minute, to use excess cukes from the garden, so I had to use what was on hand. White onion; raspberry balsamic vinegar; 3-4oz firm tofu; in place of farina:about 2-3T nutritional yeast & 2T dry cream of broccoli soup powder; chopped fresh basil, oregano & chives; 1t minced garlic; 1 small jalepeno-seeded, no membranes. I knew I was going to be pureeing this in my VitaMix so I didn't bother peeling the cukes (preserving the vitamins) by the time it's through there is no sign of skin or anything solid. I plan to serve this chilled with dinner, BUT it was so darned good that I had a cup hot for lunch! (And I just realized that I ate it without the sour cream -less calories and STILL delicous!!!) ...but I WILL add it when we have it chilled with dinner. **I LOVE the idea of adding fresh avacado (and maybe lime & cilantro too) oh the possibilities!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Great cold soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lieberm
Home Town: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States