Cucumber Slices With Dill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Pretty good but a little too sweet. I used 1/2 the sugar the recipe called for and I added in a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
Love this recipe with rice dishes. Perfect blend of sweet and tartness. This needs to sit at least 6-8 hours to fully appreciate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very nice salad! I thinly sliced the cucumber and added the salt. I let that set for about twenty minutes to let the cucumbers produce their own water. I added thin sliced red onion, cut the amount of sugar in half, used white wine vinegar, left the amount of dill the same and omitted the water. I chilled it for the time stated and it went great with grilled chicken. If you like this, you'll like "Dilly Cucumber Salad" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This salad was a great side dish with grilled salmon. I used rice vinegar and omitted the sugar entirely. Red onion also added some nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is a great way to use those garden cukes. I like adding 1/2 cup red bell pepper to the mixture but it's great as is. I love the taste of fresh dill but the dried dill really works best with this recipe as it's not so overwhelming. Very refreshing. IF you're going to reduce the sugar....reduce the vinegar, too. The cukes make plenty of their own liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXBuxaroni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This recipe was TOO SWEET!! I'd cut back on the sugar at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
I usually don't care for cucumbers in vinegar but this was the best. It has such a wonderful flavor and so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
A little too sweet for my taste... next time I'll cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added halved cherry tomatoes, they tasted wonderful with the onion and cucumber the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This is so tasty! I cut the sugar in half and add more vinegar. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This recipe calls for a little too much sugar. Still, it's refreshing and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States