Cucumber Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
A great summertime sandwich! One of my favorites. I used pita bread, my husband prefers tortilla wraps. Pita bread can be a little messy but delicious. I also use low-fat cream cheese and just a couple slices of avocados. Two whole avodacos would be way too much (must be a misprint.) Note to Eggyplant: a pepperoncini is a mild yellow pepper, also referred to as Banana Peppers. They are usually sold in jars near the pickle section. Gives the sandwich a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Fabulous! I toasted some whole grain bread before assembling the sandwich. I used light cream cheese and added a little salt and pepper. This would easily make a nice wrap sandwich. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Great sandwich! You definitely only need one avocado, though. And since the bread was already spread with cream cheese, I chose not to mash the avocado and spread it on the bread. I just sliced the avocado and added it to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
The first time that I made this I rolled it in a tortilla shell & it just didn't do the sandwich justice. The second time I made it, I marinated the cucumbers in Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing (found on this site) instead of the vinegar & oil & had it on wheat bread. YUM! It was messy, but very tasty! Thanks Jennifer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I am just plain crazy for this sandwich, and I can't imagine why I never thought to put these ingredients together myself. I've made this multiple times now, and have adjusted it to just my liking: Use a handful of fresh baby spinach in place of lettuce, used only 1T of lite cream cheese mashed together with 1/4 to 1/3 of an avacado and a pinch of onion powder and black pepper(this seemed to make plenty of spread to cover both pieces of bread), add sliced pickles when the mood strikes. I've tried it sprinkled with a variety of vinegars, and although I like them all, balsamic is my absolute favorite. I also pass on the EVOO, and sometimes I sprinkle a little drief basil and/or oregano over the vinegar. Absolutely fabulous & oh, so satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is a good, very filling veggie sandwich. I've made it several times since I discovered this recipe a week ago! I've tried both slicing the avocado and spreading it, spreading it made for a less messy sandwich that stayed together better. Did not use pepperoncinis, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Also be sure to use thick, whole wheat bread or else the oil/vinegar combo will make the bread fall apart. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I never thought a sandwich could be a 5-star recipe, but this one is! My husband wasn't too thrilled when he saw what I had prepared for lunch, but even he had to admit that it was delicious. My only changes: I used half the vinegar and oil (they add a lot, but I think 1 tsp. each would be too much), substitued onion for pepperoncini, sliced the avocado instead of mashing it, and left out the sprouts (because I didn't have any - but they're probably a good addition). The sandwiches came out looking beautiful (not a mess like other reviewers commented...) and tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Ummmm, good healthy lunch! I used a garlic herbed cream cheese and stuffed all the goodies into pita bread. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I love this sandwich! I add a little guacamole mix ~extra spicy~ to the avocado. And instead of putting the dressing on the sandwich I spoon a little on as I eat! No soggy sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Gave this sandwich five stars because I didn't want to discourage anyone else from trying it. It was very good. A few thoughts though; I made this in the winter and served with soup. I really think it would have been better for summer fare. Meat and potaoes hubby wasn't impressed. I tried hiding the all veggie aspect of the sandwich by adding a layer of salad shrimp. I didn't work. They were too light and delicately flavored and almost seemed like more vegggies. Hubby isn't wild about avocadoes. I used 1/2 of a big one and it was more than he could tolerate. "Thick" wheat bread is not easy to get unless you use a wheat hoagie roll or bake it yourself. I used a nice homestlye wheat but it was still pretty soggy and messy. Although I don't mind that, I love messy hearty sandwiches but it might be a disaster with small kids though. Serve with a fork to scoop up the leftover "salad" that falls out of the sandwich. I didn't have any sprouts but I'd like to try it again with them. I had the lettuce but after the sandwich was put together with all that stuff I forgot to add it. Don't think I missed it. The cream cheese was the secret ingredient to make this stand out from regular mayonaise based veggie sandwiches. I'll remember that for other occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States