Cucumber Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So fresh and addicting! Very versatile; you can add or subtract ingredients according to your taste. I toasted the bread and sprinkled garlic powder and dill on the cream cheese after spreading it on the bread to give it even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeeSweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I omit the olive oil - just mix together whipped cream cheese and red wine vinegar to taste - great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Terrific! Didn't have a ripe avocado but had some guacamole so spread some of that on. Pita bread would be perfect for this recipe! Really loved the comination of all the vegies/flavors. Definitely going in my "make often" section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manlius, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Mmmm...crunchy, delicious & satisfying! I LOVE the textures & a thin slice or two of deli turkey wouldn't hurt for those who just hafta have some meat in their sandwich. I also have been known to cheat & just use an Italian salad dressing or vinaigrette in place of the oil/vinegar, a dash of salt is a must & a sprinkle of dill weed adds a nice touch, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I liked this very much. No changes made except to use whipped cream cheese because its easier to spread as another reviewer noted. The layer of cream cheese keeps the bread from absorbing the olive oil and vinegar and to my surprise was a delicious addition. I don't know why some reviews are saying the bread gets soggy, it shouldn't because the recipe notes to eat immediately. Most enjoyable was after eating I didn't feel stuffed like I do when I eat a meat based sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this sandwich! My husband, a meat lover, said he felt like he was eating a salad between two pieces of bread, nothing special. I tried bean sprouts since I could not find alfalfa, and I boiled the sprouts for one minute, adding the vinegar and olive oil to only the drained sprouts in an attempt to keep the sandwich from getting too soggy like other reviews had mentioned. The next day I took a sandwich for lunch and added a slice of Swiss cheese--delicious! We ate these sandwiches with a side of zucchini relish, a recipe I found on this site that was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was great! The only different thing I did was toast the bread. I've been looking for a great sandwich, and this is it! It's a little messy, but oh so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family really enjoyed this. The only reason I am dinging it a star is because the olive oil/red vinegar mixture was a little weird for us. I think regular vegetable oil and red wine vinegar would have been better. One daughter said this vinegar combo kept her from tasting the avocado, and to leave it off next time. I will definitely try this again, it is definitely worth repeating. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Yum! Very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Add a bit of mustard or honey-mustard to the bread and it's really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWNYVERE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States