Cucumber Salad With Thai Sweet Chili Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Not bad, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
You had me at Thai sweet chili sauce! Love this variation on cucumber salad! I have made this several times now and like to use the small baby cucumbers because they seem to stay crunchy longer. While I have made this "as is" and enjoyed it, I'm not wild about sesame oil. I love feta with cucumber and found I can add the feta if I leave out the sesame; they just don't meld well together. It's just a personal preference, this is still 5 stars! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Angelisa Love
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I used thinly sliced red onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These are great! Worst part was slicing my finger on the mandolin....ouch! I'll be more careful next time-because there WILL be a next time. Only I know I need to at least double it because it doesn't make very much-though I don't think I'd make enough for leftovers because the flavor is pretty strong and it's easy enough to just make it up for dinner (I ate the whole thing myself and was glad I didn't have to share it!) I also think some shredded daikon could be good in this. I had a huge cucumber (seedless) and there was more than enough vinaigrette. My sweet chili sauce had garlic in it so I left the extra garlic out. Everything else was the same and I found the amounts perfect, although I am a lover of sesame oil. Sprinkled some sesame seeds on the top. Great Asian side dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Cukes stayed nice & crisp - dressing is fantastic, made my own sweet Thai chili from another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I was bored of my regular cucumber salad so I tried this. It seems like the quantities are way off here. I used twice the amount of cucumbers but between the vinegar and chili sauce the salad was so sharp. It was edible the first time I served it, but after marinating for another day we just couldn't stomach it. I'm not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The flavor of these surprised me. I am not too familiar with Thai food, but there was a lot going on flavor wise. They were sweet, salty, and a tad peppery or vinegary. I actually was able to find the sweet chili sauce at Trader Joes and my garlic powder container, from Penzeys, said granulated garlic on the top. Until I saw that I was confused to that ingredient specifically. It said to cut the cucumber thin. I sliced it about 1/8," and I used a partially peeled English cucumber. I ended up doubling the other ingredients as I had quite a bit of cucumber slices. Only change was, eating it after 5-10 minutes. I just prefer crisp cucumbers. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
We liked this recipe, a lot, but I did cut the sesame oil down to 1/2 teaspoon. I made it up in the morning and they were flavor packed by dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Easy to prepare and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiFar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I really liked this. However, unless you are big on sesame oil, reduce or leave out. Next time I'll reduce it. This was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States