Cucumber Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I made this last night after work and it was so easy. I used "Renee's cucumber and dill" dressing (and put in a bit more for extra taste). It was so good, I thought I had made enough so that I would be able to take some to work for lunch, but it was so good, the kids ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nakina
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Very simple and fresh tasting. I added a little dill weed. As for slicing them real thin, I cut the cucumbers in half lengthwise and used a potato peeler..very simple solution. Also, the cucumbers were out of my garden so I left the skins on. I don't know if it would be so asthetically pleasing without the skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
this recipe was easy, but it tasted too bland. I had to doctor it up a bit just to make it a lil more tangy. Dill weed and a bit of vinegar helped lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
This is delicious and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Slicing the cucumbers thin is what helps them soak up the flavor of the dressing. My favorite dressing to use is simply seasoned rice vinegar and a little fresh ground black pepper.No need to add oil. then you can also add grape tomatoes sliced in half,red or green onions,and a little sweet red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Use a mandoline to slice the cucumbers - fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
For more flavor I replaced the cream dressing with an olive oil and basalmic vinagerette with minced garlic, black pepper, sea salt, and whole-grained mustard. I also sliced the cukes and onions 1/8" thick on a mandollin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Two stars, mainly for the choice of ingredients but I felt the method needed refining. I salted the cucumber slices lightly and let them sit on a clean teacloth for about 20 minutes. I also soaked the red onion slices in cold water for about 20 minutes. The soaking 'sweetens' the onion. Then I wrung the cucumbers out in a clean teacloth and patted the cucumber and onion dry.I like Bren's simple rice vinegar and pepper for a dressing or a spritz of good balsamic vinegar. (This soaking method is always used for cucumber sunomono when preparing Japanese salads.) I always 'sweeten' red onion if it's being eaten raw. This is perhaps time-consuming, no snap, but I enjoy the results. It's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
You could slice the cuke a little thicker, and put the slices in sour cream french onion dip, or add extra onion and put it all in just sour cream. Quick, easy side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States